cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opinion for excellent quality amateur camera

Saddlepotato06
Apprentice
Hi there everybody. I am a horse trainer. Part of my job includes taking sales pictures and video and I also really enjoy photographing at horse shows, plus the odd landscape/portrait/macro shots. I am upgrading my Rebel Xti. The auto-focus sensor is whacked out and the camera itself is 12+ years old at this point.

I need an all around good quality camera to bring my photography up to standard, and I would love your opinions on what to aim for on a modest budget. While I am not a professional photographer, I am a professional trainer and would like my images to look as such.

Currently I am looking at the 5D Mark ii or iii, the 6D, 7D and the 60D. I would like to have an SD card reader and video capabilities, but those are both negotiable. It must be competitive in low light and with speedy shutter speeds (and bursts). From my understanding, the Rebel series is for not-so-serious amateurs so I would like to stay away from those, but be able to use my collection of EOS lenses.

If anyone could help me narrow down my selection (or offer something new) I would be forever indebted to you.

Paige
6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

If the autofocus capability of your XTi hadn't failed, what would you want to be doing with the camera that you couldn't?

The cameras you mentioned do have higher level features that a Rebel, but Rebels are very capable cameras.

If you Google Rebel (model) versus (other camera) you will get hits that list the differences and you can see what they are and if they will matter to you.

For exanple: http://www.imaging-resource.com/cameras/canon/60d/vs/canon/t7i/

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Saddlepotato06
Apprentice