cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noob Question - time settings

mdjunk
Apprentice

I'm not a professional or seasoned or experienced photographer...and this question really has nothing to do with photography; it's about setting the date and time on the EOS 70D.

On my first big trip out of the country, I changed the time zone.  I think that is all I did.  When I pulled the pictures off the camera, they were all date/time stamped the same number of hours ahead as the number of time zones we traveled (flew from East coast of the US to Spain).  Not a huge deal, but I was sorting some of them in with phone photos and it got a bit confusing.

So how should I set the date time on the camera, and what should I do when I get to Paris (next big trip!) with the camera?  Should I do nothing, leaving it set to the time zone I set while at home?  Change the location when I land (change from NYC to Paris)?  Change the time zone AND the time to match the then current time in Paris?  Something else?

12 REPLIES 12

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

The mechanics of setting the time/date and zone are in the manual, but that's not what I understand is your issue.  As I understand it you want to figure out if you should match the time zone to your holiday location or keep with your home.  I will note that many models of camera let you differentiate between your home time zone and a local one, and that can resolve the issue to some extend if you use it judiciously.

The further you stray from your own time zone the bigger the difference, but also the more gap between them in terms of flying, when you are assumedly not taking photos.   For most trips changing the time zone to your local one seems the most logical to me - your images will synchoronize with the activities and light of your locality at the time.