cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Night time high school soccer photography

Maisymom
Contributor

Hi everyone,

I am a soccer mom taking my sons' soccer photos for years.

My youngest one is a senior now and playing for the last soccer season in high school.  So I decided to rent a lens and take the game photos even after dark.

I have Canon EOS 7D and just rented the lens (EF 70~200mm, f2.8L IS USM II).

I never take any photography classes in the past.  Jsut self taught and shot as many photos as possible in each game.

So, could you please help me what the best setting for the night time soccer photos in the public high school soccer field?

Anything particular should I know about the lens??

Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

No one is going to able to tell you what specific exposure settings to use, simply because there are too many unknowns.  If you are self-taught, then go with your instincts.  Judging from your lens choice, I'm guessing your instincts are pretty good.  

For action photography, the faster the shutter speed is usually for the best.  But, a faster shutter speed will demand higher ISO settings.   Find the upper limit of what you want for an ISO setting.  You can set your camera to limit what ISO to use when ISO is set to AUTO.  I don't like the 7D2 at 6400, so limit it to 3200.  

Your night shots will have varying light conditions.  I like to use ISO AUTO when lighting can vary widely, shooting in Manual mode.  I would open the aperture to f/2.8 and shoot away.  Hopefully, there will be sufficient light to keep shutter speed high enough to freeze players motion, but I doubt it.  So, pick your shots carefully, being aware that subject motion blur will creep into every shot that you take.

Because subject motion blur will be your nemesis, take steps to reduce camera motion blur by using a monopod, or tripod.

--------------------------------------------------------