cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to DSLR - poor quality pictures

oi2us2
Apprentice

Experts, I need some guidance.

I am new to DSLR, with some studying of the relationship between ISO / Aperture and Speed.

My vacation pictures are much better taken with cellphone than my new 80D.

Appreciate any guidance.

Cellphone - 1/1250 sec. f/1.7 4.25mm, ISO 50

12019-08-31 (40).jpg

80D

1/100 sec. f/7.1 32mm   ISO 100

12019-08-31 (42).jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

As Ernie questioned, what is it you were specifically trying to capture with that photo?  The cell phone photo looks very washed out and on the verge of significant overexposure to me (i.e. the striations on the cliff in the upper left of your cell phone photo).

From your chosen DSLR settings it appears you wanted extreme depth of field from around 7 meters to infinity in acceptable focus which means nothing is going to "pop" in that composition unless Bigfoot comes kayaking down the falls wearing a florescent yellow bathing suit with sparklers in each hand and at least to me a lot of the potential scenery isn't adding to the scene so if some of the most extreme close in stuff was slightly blurred in order to sharpen the rest of the image I don't think you are losing anything.  Keeping the sensor at its native ISO does result in the greatest dynamic range but I would have chosen a faster shutter speed and lower F stop with most lens unless you are using a tripod because even though you can handhold at those shutter speeds, blur due to camera shake is still very possible at 1/100 even with that wide angle lens. Nothing in the DSLR image looks as sharp as it should since the entire scene should be within acceptable focus given your camera setup.