cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New forum member, new camera owner!

TheCanon
Contributor

Hello all,

I am new here and this is my first post. A couple days ago I purchased a new EOS 70D camera. This is my first "real" camera. I have been doing aerial photography with drones for a few years now. This camera so far is great! All the features, settings, and controls are a bit daunting, but so far I am loving it.

Only after I purchased the camera I saw multiple threads and youtube videos about the center focus issue with the view finder at wide apertures (2.8 and wider). I am wondering if this issue has been resolved in the most recent models? I bought my camera at Costco and they have a high turnover rate of inventory, which means I'm pretty sure my camera was recently manufactured. After about mid 2015 this reported issue seems to fade away. I have no means at the moment of testing my camera for the issue, the two lenses that came with my camera do not have a wide enough aperture and I don't have a tripod yet 🙂 My fear is that someday I'll buy a new lense and I will notice the issue. Anyway.....any info on this still being an issue with current models would be great.

I also am wondering about firmware updates. Typically new electronics require firmware updates out of the box. I registered my product on the Canon website and didn't see any firmware updates available. Are we supposed to get firmware updates from other means? Is it something we do in camera settings while connected to wifi or are updates always located on Canon's website for download?

Ok enought questions for now. Below are the first pictures I took with my 70D camera!

IMG_4475.JPG

IMG_4475.JPG

13 REPLIES 13

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Welcome to the Forum.

According to the Canon website there are no firmware updates for the 70D. The link below will let you download the latest versions of the software.