cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Body or New Lens? Looking for Suggestions...

LandscapeFan
Apprentice

I am a relatively newer photographer, but very excited about it...

I have an EOS Rebel T3i and it has served me well to help me learn the basics... Then a year ago, I decided to seriously upgrade lenses... so I splurged on the EF 24-70mm f2.8L II USM Lens...  Same body.

I am especially a fan of landscape photography and my main complaint has been that it doesn't seem wide enough to get me what I am looking for...  So I was looking at lenses again and there is the new crazy wide angle 11-14mm from Canon that seems to be amazing, but again, probably overkill in terms of expense...The Sigma 12-24mm seems like a more reasonable choice...

However, then I realized that I am getting a 1.6x crop factor with my Rebel - yes I am kind of a novice... and thought perhaps I should probably upgrade my body to the 6D instead... 

That is where I am leaning... I would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions from all you experts out there...!

Thanks!

10 REPLIES 10

cicopo
Elite

I'm not much of a landscape photographer & I own the first version on the Sigma 12-24 which I like BUT I think you'd be better served by the 6D for now and once you see what it does with your lens then maybe look into an even wider lens.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

@cicopo wrote:

I'm not much of a landscape photographer & I own the first version on the Sigma 12-24 which I like BUT I think you'd be better served by the 6D for now and once you see what it does with your lens then maybe look into an even wider lens.