cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to Buy Canon Camera Advice

messi4710
Apprentice

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner to photographing. In the near future, I want to buy myself a long-term camera with about $ 1,000. Are you aiming for me 70d vs len 18-55. According to everyone, I should buy a new one always good to buy old body and lens

5 REPLIES 5

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

It would help us to know what your photographic intentions are:

1.  What types of things do you want to photograph?  E.g. social stuff and general-purpose photography), sports, wildlife - especially birds and mega-mammals)...

2.  What types of output will you generate?  WIll you post your images on social media or on media screens like phones, tablets or TV's, or do you intend to produce prints - if so, small ones (say 5"x7") or something bigger?

3.  Do you want to take video and if so which is the main activity - video or stills?

Answering these question for a start will help people on the forum to guide your choice.

cheers

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Excellent advice/questions from Tronhard because a camera that works well for most uses may not be the one best suited for your specific wants/needs.

I am a big believer in buying the best glass you can afford because a good lens will last through several body upgrades, especially in the still fairly rapidly evolving digital photography world.