cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some help regarding 90D and Sigma 150-600C OS issue

jaisomnmick
Apprentice

I just upgraded to the 90d from the 70d. I've been using my sigma 150-600 with the 70d for a few years now.

The OS on the lens is not working through the VF but does work through Live View. Seeing how I'm not going to use live view while shooting at 600mm, this is a problem.

Firmware is up to date on both camera and lens and I've tried changing setting on the lens with the sigma dock. No luck.

Anyone else have similar issues? Can anyone help?

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1444021/

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I have had both the Sigma 150-500mm, and now the 150-600mm C.  What type of behavior are you seeing from the OS?

I have two observations.  The OS on the 150-500mm would always seem to get into a tug-of-war with the AF motor signals coming from the camera.  I wound up never using the OS in the 150-500mm, which did not matter because my shutter speed was always way up around 1/1600.  I sold the 150-500mm in favor of the 150-600mm, which had the Sigma Dock!

The second observation was that both the 150-500 and 150-600 do not seem to AF as well on my APS-C bodies as well as they do on my full frame bodies.  The FF bodies always seem to capture noticeably sharper photos.  Always.

John's link is to an older thread, which no longer applies to 150-600mm C lenses with the latest firmware.  In early 2017, Sigma released updated firmware that totally rewrote AF algorithms, and fixed the OS seeming to fight the camera AF system.