cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need professional advise for product photography lens for Canon 7D

Amscot56
Contributor

I am a graphic designer with a lot of experience in the studio but I now find myself needing to do my own product shots in my home studio space of 12' x 12.' I am looking hard at the Canon 7D moving up from 40D and I need to know the best lens or lenses to shoot items such as rifles, glassware, china, and small housewares, etc. I will also need to purchase either soft boxes or umbrellas and am looking for advise on this issue as well. Photos will be used for e-commerce and possibly for catalogs. All comments appreciated!

35 REPLIES 35

What do you make of the suggestion to go with a tilt and shift lens? Also, so on the cropped 40D the 100mm lens ends up being a 160mm fixed lens right?

45mm TS-E lens are perfect for 40D for product shot (in my case). But TS-E lens has a learning curve, so if you can rent it to test out, I think you should before putting down the $.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

@Amscot56 wrote:

What do you make of the suggestion to go with a tilt and shift lens? Also, so on the cropped 40D the 100mm lens ends up being a 160mm fixed lens right?

Answering in reverse order: