cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help on an upgrade Canon DSLR

techjedi
Contributor

We had the original Digital Rebel and it failed and was warranty replaced with a XTi at some point years ago.

My wife does mostly catalog photography for Web resolutions. She has no print needs, so high pixel-count is not really required. This work mostly includes clothing on mannequins as well as jewelry and bags/shoes/belts in a light box. Sometimes getting really close/macro for jewelry stamps is very handy.

She currently has the EF 17-40mm f/4L USM lens on the XTi.

This camera has served well, but looking to upgrade.

My wifes primary concerns:

- LIGHT LIGHT LIGHT -> I am not an expert, but she is always trying to get more light in her pictures. We have umbrella lights in her studio with high lumen 5000k lights as well as a few other types of inexpensive clip-lights to increase light. Even with these, she is always experimenting with higher ISO and additional light.

- Quick shooting. The XTi when using the built-in flash will frequently say "busy" and make her wait to take the next shot. Have not tried an add-on flash to see if it is any better.

- Lightweight -> she is a petite person and a lighter camera will help with longer photography sessions.

I was looking at the SL1 as an upgrade that is in our price range (550$ with the default lens or without). It seemed small and relatively the same specs as the 60D/T5i and not far from the 70D. The 70D does seem to have better specs than the SL1 but the 1000-1100 price range doesn't seem worth it for her purposes. I think it would be money better spent on a better lens?

Does the SL1 seem like a good route for her purpose? Any lens recommendations?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@techjedi wrote:

Thank everyone for your continued advice.