Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-03-2020
Accepted Solution

My "New" Canon EOS R5 had over 1,500 shutter releases? Is this normal?

I received my R5 this morning and this afternoon I realized that it had 1,805 shutter releases on a brand new camera from B&H Photo. Is this normal? I'm guessing but can't believe that I pressed the shutter button more than 100 or possibly 200 times but 1,800?

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,592
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: My "New" Canon EOS R5 had over 1,500 shutter releases? Is this normal?


@VegasCameraGuy wrote:

I received my R5 this morning and this afternoon I realized that it had 1,805 shutter releases on a brand new camera from B&H Photo. Is this normal? I'm guessing but can't believe that I pressed the shutter button more than 100 or possibly 200 times but 1,800?


How did you find out how many shutter presses it has had?  Does the camera tell you how many shutter presses it has?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 807
Registered: ‎10-18-2016

Re: My "New" Canon EOS R5 had over 1,500 shutter releases? Is this normal?

[ Edited ]

One thing that is worth considering...

 

Could it be that you, or someone along the way before you has inserted a card that was not completely clean - i.e. low-level formatted.   If continuous numbering is selected in the menu options  (and it has been by default in my experience) then the camera can pick up the numbering from an inserted card that has had an image count (even if it is formatted but not at low-level) and continue the numbering from then.

cheers Trevor

"All the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris
"A good swordsman is more important than a good sword" Amit Kalantri
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,152
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: My "New" Canon EOS R5 had over 1,500 shutter releases? Is this normal?

As Trevor noted, if you are going by file sequence number, then his explanation is the likely reason for what you observed.

 

My 1DX series DSLR bodies provide a shutter count to the nearest 1,000 increment so that you can schedule replacement before failure is likely, something that is important in pro level bodies which are frequently used in high speed drive and multiple events resulting in a very high number of shutter actuations in a short period of time.  But the 1 series are the only Canon DSLR bodies I have owned that provide this info within their menu display, is that information also being provided in the R5 series? 

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,250
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: My "New" Canon EOS R5 had over 1,500 shutter releases? Is this normal?

And also, do you know whether it was mecahanical or electronic shutter? IIRC, the R5 has both.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-03-2020

Re: My "New" Canon EOS R5 had over 1,500 shutter releases? Is this normal?

Sorry Guys, I'm an idiot! When I saw the shutter count, I jumped to a conclusion that was 100% wrong.

 

I didn't realize that what I was seeing was the number of shutter releases of the BATTERY! My Bad! When I got my R5, the battery was only partially charged, and while I was waiting for the new battery to charge, I used a battery from my 80D which is compatible but lower capacity.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement