Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-05-2017
Accepted Solution

Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

[ Edited ]

I'm using a 6dii. When I shoot in movie mode and smooth with AI disabled shouldn't I able to use the touch autofocus on the LCD screen? Is there another setting to enable this?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

Untitled.jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-05-2017

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

Yes, this is how I've been doing it but I thought there was a way to do touch focus also?  What I mean by that is when you touch the back of the LCD screen it automatically focuses with the touch of your finger.  Is that not available in movie mode?

Thanks

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

It isn't available in the mode I quoted above, either, you have to touch the shutter.I suspect it is because of the dual-pixel auto focus. On my T6S I touch the LCD to focus via contrast detection and hit the shutter to focus with the normal AF.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,766
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus


@probertson wrote:

I'm using a 6dii. When I shoot in movie mode and smooth with AI disabled shouldn't I able to use the touch autofocus on the LCD screen? Is there another setting to enable this?


I have been trying to figure out what that means.  I have no idea what settings you are using, or what you actually looking for.

 

In Movie mode, the camera can focus on a subject either with or without tracking.  Just as when you are shooting still photographs, each AF mode is different setting, and the camera cannot automatically switch back and forth between AF modes.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-05-2017

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

When you shoot in movie, you can disable movie servo AF and shoot in 3 different AF methods, one of which is Smooth zone. I hope that clarifies what settings I'm talking about.  My question is this:  with movie servo AF disabled, shouldn't I still be able to focusing using touchscreen, rather than the AF button or the shutter release?  Or is touchscreen AF only available with Movie Servo AF?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

Notice the paragraph below the one I highlighted, not mention of the touch screen, only the shutter button. You can get a wired remote to make it easier to activate focus.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,766
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus


@probertson wrote:

When you shoot in movie, you can disable movie servo AF and shoot in 3 different AF methods, one of which is Smooth zone. I hope that clarifies what settings I'm talking about.  My question is this:  with movie servo AF disabled, shouldn't I still be able to focusing using touchscreen, rather than the AF button or the shutter release?  Or is touchscreen AF only available with Movie Servo AF?


My question is this: What did you expect to happen?  You have disabled automatic auto focusing.  Enable Movie Servo AF, and the camera should do what you want.  If you do not want it to refocus, turn off the AF/MF switch on the lens.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎08-05-2017

Re: Movie Mode and Touch Autofocus

What did I expect to happen? What I expected to happen is to disable the servo but still be able to use touch auto focus. The servo can be disabled by touching the icon in the lower left part of the screen.  You wouldn't turn off AF on the lens.  I think we're talking about two different things.  Thanks for trying to help but I think I've got it figured out.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement