Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Super Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎01-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

I have been playing with electronic gears for over 55 years since I was a teenager. I did a lot of repairs too. It became my hobby over the decades.

 

I am brave enough to experiment and investigate the causes of malfunctioning of various type of electronic equipment from tube amplifiers and radios to semiconductor to IC and now the computer hardwares and camera (and lenses) etc, etc. There are things beyond my knowledge and capability and I can't repair everything right. But, what is the loss.I learned everyday. I shared with people the joy of making things well whenever I have a chance. All for nothing but sharing.

 

Yes, to eliminate possibilities is the one of the way to troubleshoot. But, how do you eliminate possibilities if you are not even taking steps to look into the problem and start with simple fix to see if it works. Some great inventions were base on assumption and sometimes imagination.

 

I was suggesting something simple and easy to fix (if it will fix at all) in lieu of big cost for a 10 years old camera equipment. I did not pointed out that my assumption is the only solution. Did I ?  And BTW, obviously, Canon is not servicing this model of camera any more.

 

I hope people will respond positively to posts and suggestions. There is no absolutely right or wrong. If you have the heart to help, that's good enough. Denying suggestion of possible cause will not solve the problem. BTW, what is the point of reiterating 40+ years experience. I must say again, I have just 55 years playing with electronics repair and I am (irrelevant) a medical specialist. I don't earn my living repairing electronics.

 

VIP
Posts: 8,363
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

No, it was bad advice. What is simple for you, is hazardous for someone who is inexperienced with taking apart electronice devices and re-assembling.  I have known people who have repaired items for years, and do not understand basic troubleshooting.

 

Furhermore, you overlook the simple fact that the person probably lacks the proper hand tools, which they would need to have on hand.  I have no wish to argue with you, but you make too many false assumptions.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Super Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎01-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

Yes. Of couse a piece of rubber ring is hazardous to some. I agree. If one swallows it.

 

This is no arguing from my side. I posted my words with good will.

 

"Bad" is not the word for me to use. I would say "ït's not a good idea" and not "bad idea'. No ideas are bad unless one makes them bad.

 

May be to make some happy, let me revise my standpoint. ( obviously, it's not for me but for those who want it this way)

 

Send the 30D to Canon repair center for their professional job. period.

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎01-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

BTW, what are my false assumptions ?

Super Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎01-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

And of course I know basic trouble shooting.

 

Read the manual under the Trouble Shooting page and send the camera to Canon repair center.

VIP
Posts: 8,363
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

"Yes. Of couse a piece of rubber ring is hazardous to some. I agree. If one swallows it."  

 

What happens if they take it apart and touch something connected to the flash capacitor?  Law suit, most likely.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Super Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎01-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

Rubber ring is for the tripod mount screw. It is not for insertion to inside the body. (and it's only one of the suggestions, right ?)

 

According to your theory, there may a risk shooting with camera mounting to a tripod and the flash capacitor inside the body circuit leaks and conducting high electric current to the tripod (or the mounting screws) and shock the camera user.  Really scary. Is that your assumption ?

 

If you have any experience opening up camera bodies at all, you should know that the flash capacitor is not located anywhere near to the bottom of the camera near the back cover. It is at the front near to the built in flash behind the front plate. It is not connected to the rear part of the circuit board.

 

Mind you, when one inserts a speedlight and when one touches the camera flash mount contacts and when the capacitor leaks, one gets electric shock. (really ? I doublt it) There is always a risk. And now I know why the parents ask their kids to stay away from electricity. hahaha

 

Very imaginative indeed. Do not touch a camera then.

 

May be it's time to dump my 7D2 which has a built-in flash on it. May be 5D and 1D series are safer to use. Hey, what about battery expolsion ? You make me worry.

 

Law suit ?  Canon - watch out. Cameras should be sealed complelely and yes, this is a spendid idea. Thank you.

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 154
Registered: ‎01-13-2015

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

My not so scary repair :

 

http://community.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS/Weird-polarized-view-on-older-Canon-DSLR-EOS-5D-DIY-sharing/m-... Disclaimer : Do not attempt to do it yourselves. Without proper training. electric shock may occur and cause death or injury. Just don't do it.

 

May be this camera is better. It doesn't have a capacitor that kills. It's my AE-1.20160116_120557.jpg

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,836
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

I think we may have lost the OP by now. Plus, in his original post he said he had a quick release plate installed and it worked off-tripod with QR on the camera, so that reduces the probability that the tripod screw is the problem.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2016

Re: MY EOS 30D works just fine until I put it on a tripod, then it won't take pictures. Any ideas?

>I think we may have lost the OP by now.

 

I am still on here.  I am still following the ideas you guys are putting forth and I appreciate the help.  I should have mentioned that I am alone, and right now I have been running back and forth from the self-timer to a chair where I have been trying to take an ID photo for myself.  One thing I noticed is that, when I finally got the thing to take a picture by changing the AF to a "servo" mode, the resultant photo was not in focus.  I've been screwing around, disabled autofocus and image stabilization, and finally got an acceptable shot.  Suspecting that there may be some fault in the lens (original equipment zoom lens), I am going to rig up a remote shutter release and then try another lens -- maybe a 100 mm portrait lens I have.

 

I am still not sure why it wouldn't work the same on a tripod as it did in a hand-held mode, and I found nothing in the manual that shed much light on the issue..  Speaking of shedding light, excess ambient light through the viewfinder is another good lead to follow.  I'll try to eliminate that as a source of error.

 

I do some troubleshooting and electronic work -- I'm an Extra class amateur radio operator and comfortable around voltages, but, as a medical person myself with hands that require size 9 surgical gloves, the very idea of frogging around inside this piece of Japanese craftsmanship (and miniaturization) does give me pause.

 

Thanks for a lot of good troubleshooting ideas.

 

jim

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement