cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low light video on Canon 6D for a guitar concert

Perrin
Contributor

Hi there

I'm new to the forum, and I've been wondering for years, how to get the best out of this 6D camera for videoing.

Here's some footage from a couple of concerts, you will see it's pretty lousy compared to what I could be getting out of the 6D.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJ5Q2Z7-3ks&list=UU3nDdFIbFwMnB6_wtMTIZNg&index=10

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxZcBXKDDrI&list=UU3nDdFIbFwMnB6_wtMTIZNg&index=3&t=0s

If anyone is able to stare me towards some simple settings for the camera overall that would be greatly be appreciated.

I have good quality memory cards 2 x 32GB, the show goes for about 2 and a half to three hours all up.   

I'm not very good with technical talk, please be forwarned on that front.

On the net I saw someone using these settings which may be a good starting point....... but any help greatly received.

Current setting: Exp 1/30, ISO 8000, WB 3200, f-stop 2.8

God Bless,

Perrin

10 REPLIES 10

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend
What lens are you using?
--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Hi there Waddizzle

We use a Canon Zoom EF Lens 24-105mm 1:4 L Is USM

Thank you

@Perrin wrote:

Hi there Waddizzle

We use a Canon Zoom EF Lens 24-105mm 1:4 L Is USM

Thank you

Okay, I was finally able to take a look at the videos in the original post.

You should be able to have much better focus than that.  Set focus on the lens manually, if you need to.  Look at a Depth of Field chart to get a feel of what range of apertures might work best for your shooting scenario.