cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logic of HDR for photos with dark and bright areas

RossK
Enthusiast

Hi, I wondered if someone could help with something that puzzles me about photographing with HDR  (I’m just learning about DSLR after getting a Canon6D).   I see the concept of 3 shots, one underexposed, one over exposed and the camera combining.  But to me if you combine the two bright and dark extremes together you are back with the end result of a middle average like the middle exposure photo that had areas too dark and too bright.  

In other words, if you feel part of your scene is too bright, to me it seems that by taking a second photo correcting it a bit, but also a third where you make it worse, the merger average takes it back to square one. 

Or, is it the case that rather than overlaying the whole underexposed image on to the whole overexposed one as I’ve described, is the camera instead effectively taking the best of the 3 versions of the brighter area of the image and the best version of the darker area and combining them, like effectively sort of “stitching”.

In the field, the example I’ve had is photos of narrow canyons where the bottom of the canyon has no direct sunlight so to the eye the walls are brown and patterned, and higher up they are glowing orange cliffs thanks to reflected light, and then you see higher brighter cliffs towering up in the direct sun hundreds of feet higher.

However taking this photo it’s not what you get.   Then the bottom of the canyon comes out pretty dark without its brown colour and walls are almost black, meanwhile the top is pretty bleached out and loses its lovely deep orange which becomes very pale and may even be just white.