Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Limited shutter speed on 7D

 

Just picked up a used 7D recently.  Having troubles getting anything to appear above 1/2500.  I was trying to shoot sunspots, and normally use a combination of ND filters and 1/4000 (max on the T3).  I just tried it again with the same lens on the T3.  Works fine like always.  However, on the 7D, anything above 1/2500 is black. I've tried auto ISO and everything else I can think of.  Is there another setting somewhere in the menu that I'm missing?

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

[ Edited ]

Have you tried to reset the camera back to factory defaults, yet?  Anytime you buy a used DSLR, it is always a good idea to reset the camera to a known state, the factory default.  It sounds like a “Safety Shift” could be enabled, if it has that feature.

 

If you have not downloaded the instruction manual from the Canon Support 7D product page, then I suggest you do so.  Take the time to familiarize yourself with the camera’s features, most especially the options in the menu system.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

Yep.  Cleared settings when I got it.  This happens in Manual mode, too, so Safety Shift doesn't apply.  It was turned on, but I turned it off with no change.  Smiley Sad

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

“....However, on the 7D, anything above 1/2500 is black....”

 

Wait a second.  Are you saying that you can set higher shutter speeds, but the images are always black?  If so, then you may have a bad shutter.  That sounds like an unusual type of mechanical failure, though.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

Yep, that's what I'm saying.  It sounds like the shutter is working, but I get a blank image every time on any shutter speed over 1/2500th.  I think I'll swing by the store yet today and see if they have any ideas.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

UPDATE:  Took it back to the store.  Two of them checked it over and concurred that something's definitely wrong.  They think the shutter might be not opening at higher speeds...sooo...off to the Canon repair facility in Palo Alto.  She said she'd give me a list of whatever they found wrong when they return it, so I'll post an update here. 

 

Thanks for the help!

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

Got it back yesterday.  Shutter assembly had to be replaced because it was "shorted causing under-exposure".  Got the standard cleaning/adjusting/firmware upgrade, too.  Just like having a new camera, and comes with a six-month factory warranty.  Smiley Very Happy

VIP
Posts: 10,917
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Limited shutter speed on 7D

"Just like having a new camera,..."

 

Canon does a fantastic job.  I always got a new looking camera back after a C&C.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement