Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
VIP
Posts: 8,340
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

[ Edited ]

@TTMartin wrote:

Here's how to find it:
Go to Adobe.com.

At the very bottom of the page click 'Products'
Click “Buy” under “Lightroom 6 – $149″.
Next to “I want to buy:”, change it from “Full” to “Upgrade”.
In “I own” pulldown, select the version of Lightroom you own.
Check-out at $79 and download!


I always wonder which package has the better lens correction for Canon lenses, DPP or LR.  I have not seen compensation, or recognition, for using Canon extenders with "L" series lenses in LR as of yet.  But, DPP has it built in.

 

[EDIT]  I must have the Midas touch, or something.  For the past month, every time I give a Kudo, it racks up as a double.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,414
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

I would think that Canon has more access to lenses and design info, but they might care more about in-camera processing. Canon also has the Digital Optimiser which can correct for diffraction effects.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,009
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

 


@Waddizzle wrote:

@TTMartin wrote:

Here's how to find it:
Go to Adobe.com.

At the very bottom of the page click 'Products'
Click “Buy” under “Lightroom 6 – $149″.
Next to “I want to buy:”, change it from “Full” to “Upgrade”.
In “I own” pulldown, select the version of Lightroom you own.
Check-out at $79 and download!


I always wonder which package has the better lens correction for Canon lenses, DPP or LR.  I have not seen compensation, or recognition, for using Canon extenders with "L" series lenses in LR as of yet.  But, DPP has it built in.

 

[EDIT]  I must have the Midas touch, or something.  For the past month, every time I give a Kudo, it racks up as a double.


I think it's related to your progress through the "Contributor" levels. Somewhere along the way, I started noticing the same effect.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,861
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

Well geez. If you have magic kudos powers, then kudo me bro!  

Smiley Wink

 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-07-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3


@RobertTheFat wrote:

Do what you have to do, but I couldn't help noticing that the elapsed time between your "Maybe I'll try DPP" message and this one saying you couldn't get used to it was only 121 minutes. Some might consider that level of impatience to be a wee bit self-defeating.


Hey Bob, point noted and I appreciate your comment. I might have come across as impatient. I do have the DPP on my PC for some years but never seem to get accustomed to it and eventually switched to LR3. Others who are using DPP may feel otherwise and that is fine with me; and that makes us photogs different in so many ways.

 

I would say my personal preference is LR perhaps because of familiarity. But still I gave the DPP a try since I have the latest version that came free with 5D3. And that was what I did during the elapsed time of 121 minutes. I do marvel at your forensic instinct. Also I may have a shoot coming up soon and do not want be left without a software that I am used. I chose to make a quick decision once I realised I missed using LR. Moreover I had to work the next morning, hence would very much wanted to have the matter resolved as quickly as possible.

 

All said, I have contacted Adobe Forum last night and was sent a link for an upgrade. All done at AUD99.00 for an upgrade to LR6 and now residing in my PC.

 

Bob, I will definitely visit this site from time to time I do look forward to reading your contribution.

 

Regards,

Edwin

 

 

Edwin Ho - Perth, Western Australia
5D, 5D III, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 580 EX II
Lightroom 6, Photoshop Elements 10
And others.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-07-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

Hi Scott,

 

Pleased to advise I have upgraded LR3 to LR6 at an upgrade cost of AUD99.00. Thank you for the information you provided.

Edwin Ho - Perth, Western Australia
5D, 5D III, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 580 EX II
Lightroom 6, Photoshop Elements 10
And others.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-07-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

Thanks Waddizzle, I opted for the simple path and upgraded to LR6 at AUD99.00. I do have PSE 10 but don't use much of it.

Edwin Ho - Perth, Western Australia
5D, 5D III, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 580 EX II
Lightroom 6, Photoshop Elements 10
And others.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-07-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3


@TTMartin wrote:

There is a work around. You can convert your 5D Mk III RAWs to DNG using the 'Adobe DNG Converter' then import the DNGs into Lightroom. But, I would advise just upgrading the latest version of LR. Since you already have LR there is an upgrade price, that as I recall is about half off the full retail price. 


Hey, I did just that as you have suggested... upgrade as I still have the SN of LR3, thank you.

Edwin Ho - Perth, Western Australia
5D, 5D III, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 580 EX II
Lightroom 6, Photoshop Elements 10
And others.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-07-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

Yes I have upgraded to LR6 stand alone at have the price of a new purchase, thank you.

Edwin Ho - Perth, Western Australia
5D, 5D III, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 580 EX II
Lightroom 6, Photoshop Elements 10
And others.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-07-2016

Re: LR3 cannot read RAW from 5D3

Thank you, I was also provided with the link by from Adobe Forum too. All good now.

Edwin Ho - Perth, Western Australia
5D, 5D III, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, EF 40mm f/2.8 STM, 580 EX II
Lightroom 6, Photoshop Elements 10
And others.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement