cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LCD screen will not display what i'm taking a picture of.

LoonyLemur
Apprentice

Hi,

I'm quite new to digital cameras, as I have only used an EOS Canon 60D at College on a few occasions. To practice my photography, I decided to purchase a second hand EOS Canon 350D and for whatever reason, my LCD screen has some faults with it. I was wondering if it was a faulty camera, a setting I had on or the fact that it is a body only camera. So, I'll explain my two faults and let me know what you all think.

Fault 1 is that the LCD screen will not display what I want to take a photograph of, so I have to estimate my aim to get whatever I want in frame, which isn't ideal obviously. 

The other fault, which is also with my LCD screen is that when I select the option to look back at my photos, all I see is a white blank screen. However I did notice, that the shade of white does change slightly for each photo. If that helps identify the problem at all. 

Despite the above, my LCD screen seems to work fine, for instance I can see what my settings are, and pressing the info screen will display what settings are on. But there are problems with taking and reviewing photography.

Any idea on what the issue could be and how to mend it would be great.  

Thanks in advance. 

10 REPLIES 10

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

While you should learn to use the view finder to take images, are you pressing the live view button?

If you are pressing the live view button, It sounds like a bad sensor.

The EOS XT/350D is very a very old camera from 2005 and does not have Liveview capability.  Liveview did not come along until the XSi/450D was released in 2008.

You should be able to see the photo in the LCD screen after you take it. Do the photos look normal after you download them to a computer or other device?

Mike Sowsun

No, when I view the downloaded images on my computer. It just shows them as a white blank screen too.