Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-13-2019

Internal Focus Stacking

Hello everyone!  

 

I have been a Canon user for over 20 years.  I currently shoot with the 5D Mark IV and the 7D Mark II.  Focus Stacking is important to me.  I do NOT want to use external gadgets.  WHEN oh when will Canon put internal focus stacking in their cameras??

VIP
Posts: 8,626
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

What do you mean by focus stacking? Like astrophotography focus stacking? Can you name a camera that has this feature?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,496
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

My Olympus Tough TG-5 has this feature, but only in microscope mode:

Untitled.jpg

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,496
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

We are just users, we have no idea when or if Canon will implement this feature.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-13-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

My friends own Nikon cameras.  The internal system allows the user to take a picture of something that has a lot of depth to it and the camera will (with what you set it up as) take a number of shots all of the same image but at different focus points then it puts it all together IN CAMERA.  You end up with a photo of (a flower lets say) and everything is in focus from front to back.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-13-2019

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

I would hope and bet that Canon folks look at these forums.  I have heard a great number of folks that have the internal focus stacking on their wish list.  Thanks 

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 762
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Internal Focus Stacking

Has been using internal focus bracketing with my 6D and 7D together with Magic Lantern. Doesn't work with 5D IV or 7D II. Canon has introduced focus bracketing with EOS RP, but you will need to stack the images in DPP4 or another software.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement