cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm brand new to photography. Just bought a 6D . Is it easy to learn?

RealtorRichie
Contributor
6D
4 REPLIES 4

For someone brand new to photography? No.

I should add that the camera does have settings to make it easy to use. But that's the answer to a different question. And, of course, the results of learning to use such a camera well are worth the effort expended.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

ScottyP
Authority
I have a 6d and I love it. Major upgrade from my old crop Rebels.

1.). Buy the book Understanding Exposure by Bryan Petersen.
2.). Google for videos on the exposure triangle.

Lots of free amateur and pro videos on even the most specific issues on the exact camera model.
And look at buying a bright Prime lens. A 35mm or 50mm is great and versatile.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

You can use any DSLR like a point & shoot camera.  So from that perspective... sure... it's easy.  

But if you use the camera that way... you're cheating yourself.  The whole point of the camera is that it allows you to conrol so much about the exposure and get absolutely fantastic results.  I tell people it's sort of like buying a Steinway and just expecting that, since it's a Steinway, you'll be able to play beautiful music with it.  That would only be true if you took some time to learn to play a piano.  The same is true of your camera.