cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a painter. I took a photo of a painting and noticed that the aspect ratio looked a little off.

jwt99
Enthusiast

The aspect ratio looked slightly wider in the horizontal and shorter in the vertical aspect.  I turned the painting horizontal and took a photo and it looked correct but when I rotated it to upright in digital photo pro it returned to the slightly wider and shorter than reality aspect ratio.  Any help would be appreciated. I am using a EOS 40D camera.

66 REPLIES 66

ebiggs, Thanks again for mentioning the Perspective Crop Tool.  I was able to watch a tutorial on using it and can see how it will be very helpful.  I practiced just a little on the paintings that I was submitting and can see how it will be valuable in many different situations.  I really appreciate your help.

Smiley Happy

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

"These are the same photo taken of the 16X24 painting horizontal and then rotated in DPP clockwise 90Degrees.  It looks slightly wider in her face when vertical as opposed to horizontal. It seems that whether horizontal or vertical the width is slightly exagerrated. "  

You are assuming that your display device has "square pixels".  Many display devices do not have pixels that have the same dimensions in both the horizontal and vertical directions.  I cannot say whether or not a camera LCD has uniform pixels, or not.  But, it should not be regarded as a critically accurate display.

I don't understand what all of the concern about how it "LOOKS" on your monitor, or camera LCD, is all about.  Isn't what really matters is how the images look when printed?  Your camera LCD is not color calibrated, and somehow I doubt if your computer monitor is color calibrated, either.