cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a painter. I took a photo of a painting and noticed that the aspect ratio looked a little off.

jwt99
Enthusiast

The aspect ratio looked slightly wider in the horizontal and shorter in the vertical aspect.  I turned the painting horizontal and took a photo and it looked correct but when I rotated it to upright in digital photo pro it returned to the slightly wider and shorter than reality aspect ratio.  Any help would be appreciated. I am using a EOS 40D camera.

66 REPLIES 66

cicopo
Elite

A guess but most likely you're too close & using a lens which needs to distort the image slightly to capture it.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

I am at least 8 feet away from the 16X24 inch painting using a 35-135mm lens.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

If you are trying to frame it exactly that will probably not work.  Leave room around it and crop it to size in post.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I did take a photo larger than the painting and then cropped it  but the aspect ratio just isn't quite right.

Use unconstarined crop!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I am using unconstrained crop.  The problem with the aspect ratio seems to be in the camera firmware.  It doesn't look right in the camera image viewer.  I went back and viewed some images from a few years ago and the images looked good then.  I was able to see a very obvious difference in 16X20 inch painting images versus 16X24 inch painting images.  Now the 16X24 inch painting images look very similar in aspect ratio to the 16X20 and both of them look a little shorter and wider than the original paintings.  It is distressing because I use this camera a lot for painting and this error makes it pretty much useless.

@jwt99 wrote: