cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I download RAW images from EOS M5 to my macbook?

Finella
Apprentice

Hi

I am totally new to canoncommunity. And also new to shooting in RAW. So I recently purchased an EOS M5, and last night shot some images in RAW. I tried to download my photos to Photos for Mac by inserting my SD card into my macbook (as I have previously done with any photos)but can only see the thumbnails. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,  Finella

6 REPLIES 6

Ray-uk
Whiz

Install Canon DPP on your Mac, this normally comes on a CD with the camera otherwise you can download it from the Canon site.

I'm having the same issue and installed Canon DPP per your suggestion but when connecting my camera to the macbook, all that opens is Photos with jpeg options. The camera folder doesn't appear anywhere on the sidebar of DPP as I imagined it would allowing me to view the files. What is the next step beyond what you suggested? Thanks!

@risadelasol wrote:
I'm having the same issue and installed Canon DPP per your suggestion but when connecting my camera to the macbook, all that opens is Photos with jpeg options. The camera folder doesn't appear anywhere on the sidebar of DPP as I imagined it would allowing me to view the files. What is the next step beyond what you suggested? Thanks!

Two quick things:

#1 DPP lets you view & adjust your photos... but it's not meant to import the photos.  

#2 To import photos using Canon's sofware... you can use "EOS Utility"  (you don't have to use Canon's software - los of applications know how to import photos from the camera).

But you DO want to make sure that no other software is running on your Mac that is trying to grab control of your camera because only one application can control the camera at a time (the first one to get the camera wins... and the rest will think there is no camera available.)

To control this: