Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
VIP
Posts: 11,377
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

"Yes, you can. Magic Lantern ..."

 

Neither Canon nor I recommend anybody use Magic Lantern.  Too much bad can happen to chance it, IMHO, of course.

 

"do it manuallly."

 

I do recommend you do it manually!

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Super Contributor
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

[ Edited ]

Canon will not recommend using ML. That I can understand. Just stick to Canon products and services. I hope all Canon users will follow and hopefully my CAJ stock will go up to $100 in a few years. hahahaSmiley HappySmiley Happy

 

I like experimenting new things. When there are things that Canon cannot offer and there are features out there with a lot of enthusiasts playing with, I jumped in. I used ML on my T3i, T4i, 60D 7D and 5D3 and never encountered major problems. Only a few times I have to re-sert the battery or find an improved version of ML. That's it. However, I wouldn't recommend people doing it unless they know the risk and have done enough research to know if they can handle it.

 

For some. "Too much bad can happen"   Speculations, personal experience or just rumors ?

 

What are the "bad" exactly ? Turn the camera to a brick ? May be but only a few cases (but not verified)  at its early stage of development years ago. But base on the posts in this forum, I saw a lot of complaints about Canon camera of different models dead or became defective even shortly after purchase. There has not been any (or many) complaints about use of ML on Canon cameras which became damaged and not reversible. Complaints are mostly about user errors or a dead/malfunctioning Canon camera.

 

Will ML turn some Canon cameras to  super cameras ? No. it will not due to physical limitation of cameras. But it will provide users with choices of a lot of very amazing features that one cannot image out of one's bare mind. If you haven't heard of it before and don't want to take the risk. It's perfectly fine and understandable but just go to the ML forum and read the posts and find out what it can do. It's however just for advance users.

 

But if you never scrolled the menu in your camera and do not know what is ISO, white balance etc, forget it. Learn your own camera first. Don't worry about it, ML is not for you.

 

 

I enjoyed playing with ML but I still recommend to do it manually coz it's so much easier for most and again, for your peace of mind.

 

Thank you.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

[ Edited ]

9 pictures, 5D classic and Magic Lantern. These days I often use Dual ISO instead to expand the dynamic range of my camera. Not often I need the dynamic range of 9 pictures.

Super Contributor
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

ML won't support 5D classic. Must be another model.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

Check again.

Super Contributor
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

Hey, Peter. You are right. It's just not available for DL now. There are links elsewhere. Thanks for your correction.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

[ Edited ]

It is possible to DL for 5D classic. I am doing it right now.

 

Anyway, the answer to the question about 5DII and 5 bracketed exposures is yes, but not with the normal settings.

Super Contributor
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

20160312_124044.jpg

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 754
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

[ Edited ]

Use the 5D Classic forum thread instead. Not popular to link to ML, so I don´t do that.

Super Contributor
Posts: 281
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: How can I get 5 bracketed exposures with my 5D Mk II?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement