cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help

Gloflosmith123
Contributor
Help I just bought a 7d from my son who only used it to video so he’s not much help in what I want to use it for ... I want to take pictures of barrel racing ... what lenses should I be looking to buy or Do I even need to buy one ... until spring everything will be indoors so lighting might be a issue to ... any help will be so much appreciated ... settings also would be fantastic as I’m just starting out
27 REPLIES 27

"I shoot a lot of equestrian events of all types."

Are these examples typical of your work?

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

"I shoot a lot of equestrian events of all types."

Are these examples typical of your work?

Yes, part of it.

These examples seemed relevant to the original question, were shot with some of the various lenses mentioned. (All or most images are "proof" quality.... low resolution, watermarked, very quickly post-processed.... bascially unfinished images for the clients to select among for completion.)

I really enjoy shooting the fast action of gymkhana, rodeo, barrel racing, roping, sorting & penning, etc. But images from those events typically don't sell anywhere near as well as images from dressage, hunter/jumper, showmanship. So I tend to do more of the latter types of events.

Alan Myers
San Jose, Calif., USA
"Walk softly and carry a big lens."
GEAR: 5DII, 7DII (x2), 7D(x2) some other cameras, various lenses & accessories
FLICKR & ZENFOLIO 

Gloflosmith123
Contributor
Thanks soooo much everyone I found a 70-200 for a price that didn’t make my hubby throw up ... hopefully this will be the only lens I need until i know what I’m doing ... how do u all carry your stuff around ... soft bag hard cases ?

Fabulous! You will love it.  Here is an answer I gave on a different thread but you might find interesting.....