cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help

Gloflosmith123
Contributor
Help I just bought a 7d from my son who only used it to video so he’s not much help in what I want to use it for ... I want to take pictures of barrel racing ... what lenses should I be looking to buy or Do I even need to buy one ... until spring everything will be indoors so lighting might be a issue to ... any help will be so much appreciated ... settings also would be fantastic as I’m just starting out
27 REPLIES 27

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

I am not sure what lens you currently have but if your budget allows, the 70-200 F2.8 is a very versatile lens for a variety of sports and it will work well for barrel racing IF you can get reasonably close to the action (not high up and far away in the stands). The 70-200 F2.8 is a very nice quality lens that is extremely versatile for both fixed and dynamic scenes and one that is on either my primary or backup body at the majority of sporting events I shoot.  For most Canon owners, a 70-200 2.8 should be the first of the better quality Canon lenses you purchase.  The IS (image stabilizing) version of the lens is nice for a lot of shots but is of less value in sports where you are shooting at high shutter speed and for your use if you are trying to minimize cost you could go with the less expensive non-IS version which would be a better choice for your use than the F4 with IS.

Ernie really likes the Sigma 120-300 F2.8 which is a very versatile coverage range.  It is one I am going to try as soon as I can make time to do so because I trust Ernie's experience with this glass.  It should be an excellent sports lens but it is considerably more than the Canon 70-200, long fast glass is just expensive but when you start pushing the capabilities of a camera system it is usually the lens that is the weakest link (once the owner understands how to get the most from the gear).