cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Focus!

agulliver
Apprentice

Hi everyone! I need some help on focusing. I have a Canon 5D Mark iii as well as a 50 1.2mm lens and am not seeming to get near the same quality photos as what I see from others with the same equipment. I am not a professional and still learning but I feel like I know enough to be getting much sharper/better focus photos. This photo below was shot at f/3.5 and I am not understanding why her entire face let alone both eyes would not be in focus?

193A6940.jpg

7 REPLIES 7

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What is your focus mode?

The camera tells you what you are focusing on. If that is not what you want, you need to adjust things so that it is focusing where you want.

In this case, load the image in DPP, and it will show you where the focus points were.

kvbarkley
I use Al Servo and placed the single focus point directly on her eye. At f/3.5 shouldn't her whole face be in complete focus?

"I use Al Servo One Shot and placed the single focus point directly on her eye."

In this case you need to be using One Shot.  You need to have just the center focus point active.  Turn all the others off.

Shoot in Raw and do your edits on post.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@agulliver wrote:

kvbarkley
I use Al Servo and placed the single focus point directly on her eye. At f/3.5 shouldn't her whole face be in complete focus?

This shot was with my 70-200 on a FF 1DXII.  I just cropped the relevant section for you to see.  The girl's eye is sharp, as that's where I was focusing.  But the boy is very slightly out of focus as he was standing just a few inches behind her.  Take a guess at the apeture setting.