Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2020
Accepted Solution

HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

I am using FW 1.6.0 on my EOS R. I just received my Rokinon 14mm AF Canon EF mount lens. When I use manual focus, it delays, fires the shutter, then freezes up for about 40 seconds. Ultimately the photo is taken, but this is not how it should act. I have release shutter without a lens enabled. When I attach this lens to a t5 or t3i, it works absolutely fine in MF mode. Any thoughts as to what I am missing?
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,252
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

" I have release shutter without a lens enabled"

 

Do a factory reset first. The set to shoot without lens.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 787
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

Does your lens have an AF chip installed? I have noticed that some cameras behave strangley with some AF chips.

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF


@Pleiades wrote:
I am using FW 1.6.0 on my EOS R. I just received my Rokinon 14mm AF Canon EF mount lens. When I use manual focus, it delays, fires the shutter, then freezes up for about 40 seconds. Ultimately the photo is taken, but this is not how it should act. I have release shutter without a lens enabled. When I attach this lens to a t5 or t3i, it works absolutely fine in MF mode. Any thoughts as to what I am missing?

Exactly which lens are you using?  It sounds like there is some issue with THE LENS, not the camera.  It the Rokinon lens does not work properly on the EOS R, Rokinon owns that problem.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2020

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

I believe it is a camera problem. This lens works as it should on a t5 and t3i. I don't have any other acquantances that shoot canon to test it on but it is only my EOS R that malfunctions with it.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2020

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

This lens does have the AF chip, but I would think that shouldn't matter when in MF mode?
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 787
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

[ Edited ]

Sorry, I was thinking you had the older Manual Focus of that lens with an AF chip.   

There must be an incompatibility problem between the Rokinon lens and your EOS R.  The fact that your EOS R works fine with Canon lenses means that Rokinon has not "reverse engineered" enough to make it work with the advanced features of the EOS R. 
 
I assume you must have you have the EF version and not the RF version since you can use it on the T5 and T3i. That means you must be using an EF to RF adapter. Is it a Canon brand or 3rd party adapter? Either way that adds another layer of uncertainty.

 Rokinon may be able to update the lens at some point. 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

Again. Exactly which model lens are you using?

It seems that you may have an old lens that works with old cameras, but not a relatively new camera. Sorry, but that is a lens problem. Old lens does not work with more recent camera body.

BTW, you might not need to enable releasing the shutter without a lens. It should not make a difference, though.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,402
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

https://community.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS/Help-EOS-R-with-Samyang-14mm-f2-8-shutter-won-t-fire/td-p/259...
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: HELP, Rokinon 14mm AF on EOS R does not MF

The “Rokinon 14mm AF” Lens does not use a Dandelion AE chip. It is an autofocusing lens, not a manual lens with a focus confirmation chip.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement