cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Group Portrait shots Canon 5D - Advise needed?

kairous1
Apprentice

Hi:

I'm a newbie in photography.  Got a 5D hand me down. I recently took  family group pictures, shooting in AV mode. I was shooting on a tripod.  Afterwards, in looking at pictures I notice that some people in the picture are in focus and others are not.  I was experimenting wiht the manual AF so was wondering if that was my problem since not all the AF "lights" lite up.

For better group shots where everyone is in focus, what should I have done?  Should I have put it into auto program mode?

Very disappointed with my efforts so hope some of you in the community can teach me a thing or two.

Thanks

Jeff

8 REPLIES 8

amfoto1
Authority

Most likely your problem is too shallow depth of field and an uneven plane of focus.

Group portraits can be particularly tricky. If you use a large lens aperture thats rendering shallow depth of field, you have to make sure all the subjects' faces are lined up on the same plane of focus (which is parallel with your camera's sensor plane, unless you use a special Tilt-Shift lens to change it).

Alternatively, or maybe in addition, select a smaller lens aperture that will increase depth of field and allow you to get all of your subjects adequately in focus. To be able to do this and still have a high enough shutter speed (even on a tripod), you might need to use a higher ISO. When photographing people, even using a tripod you often still need to keep shutter speeds up to some degree, in case they move slightly during exposure. The tripod (and Image Stabilization on some lenses and cameras) can help with camera shake.... but can't help with subject movement.

Blur due to subject movement can be mistaken for focus problems. So just be sure you know which you are dealing with, or your corrective efforst might not help.