cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Got a 1DX Mk2 for free, not sure what to do with it.

rahulyadav
Apprentice

Last night I won an annual photography competition that my local camera shop holds every year. The prize for first place was a brand new 1DX MK2 body. I really did not think I would win 1st. I was expecting to get 5th or 6th which would have gotten me a nice lens. But somehow I ended up winning.

Here is my dilemma. I am still very much a beginner photographer. I have taken a year long photo class in college and then just self taught from the internet, that’s it. I upgraded a few months ago to an M50 and have been very happy with it so far. I am obviously not at the level where I need or can even take advantage of the 1DX MK2. So I’m not sure what I should do with it. Here are the options that I have thought of

Keep the 1DX MK2, use it as my main camera and grow into it over time. (I realize that it would probably be years until I would actually be at a level that would warrant using the 1DX MK2 so this might not be the best idea. Also not sure I like the risk of breaking or damaging such a valuable camera that I don’t even need to be using.)

Sell the 1DX MK2 and buy a better camera than my M50 but still reasonable. ( I was considering the 6d MK2. I don’t actually know much about the 6D MK2 if just looked like a reasonable option because of where it falls into canons product stack based on price.)

Sell the 1DX MK2 and buy lenses for my m50. I have both the EF lens mount adapter and a speed booster for the m50 so I could get some pretty nice lenses. (My concern is that I’m not really experiencing enough to know what lenses I should get and would end up wasting the money on lenses that don’t make sense. I know that I want a telephoto lens but other than that I don’t know.)

Keep the 1DX MK2 unopened and save it until a few years down the line when it make more sense to use it.