Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Go back and read the manual again?

SyrBrian
Apprentice

I'm a relative newbie and I need some guidance with autofocus -

I am using a Canon EOS 70D with  Tamron 150-600 telephoto using a tripod -

shooting a bird feeder in my yard , I've focused on the feeder and when birds arrive I depress

the shutter halfway and the camera appears to try and re-focus the shot (into a complete blur) ...

thanks for any input !

Brian M

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I've focused on the feeder and when birds arrive I depress

the shutter halfway ...."

It sounds like you are trying to do it the easy way.  That almost will never work.  You need to select a single center focus point and you need to focus on the bird each time one arrives. Use One Shot not AI-Servo. Leave OS/IS/VC, etc. on or tun it off, I don't see any difference on mine.

If you have multiple focus points active who knows what it focused on?  Use just one.

111.jpg

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@SyrBrian wrote:

I'm a relative newbie and I need some guidance with autofocus -

I am using a Canon EOS 70D with  Tamron 150-600 telephoto using a tripod -

shooting a bird feeder in my yard , I've focused on the feeder and when birds arrive I depress

the shutter halfway and the camera appears to try and re-focus the shot (into a complete blur) ...

thanks for any input !

Brian M

Yes, reviewing the manual is always a good thing.

Using a super telephoto means relearning a few things.  That lens has a long MFD, minimum focusing distance, so make sure the bird feeder is at least 25 feet away from you.  The lens should have a focusing range range switch, so learn to use it.