Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-21-2013

Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

[ Edited ]

Hi Folks,

 

Hoping someone can help me figure out why i'm having focus issues.  Typical example is that i take some shots and of say 20 only 10 are in focus.  Granted the lens i used in my last test is front focusing and i will have it adjusted but still something is up. 

 

When i review the images on the camera LCD on one image it shows me where it focused (the little red box shows in the review).  On the other image (the one that is in focus) it is not showing it.  So wondering if maybe i switched focus points and one happens to be better (yes i know center is best but trying to figure out if that is my issue).

 

In what situation would the focus point NOT show up when reviewing an image on the LCD?

 

When I look at the EXIF data for the images they are almost identical - only difference is that one was shot at ISO 200 and one at ISO 250 - that should make no difference in focus.

 

Used a Canon 6D and Canon 70-200 f/4 lens.  Shooting in Manual Mode, settings were 1/500, f/4 ISO 200/250 both shot at about a focal length of 100mm, subject is in the same spot just turned a slightly before taking the shot.  I have inlcude examples (zoomed in to show the difference):focus2.jpg

 

focus1.jpg

 

and here is the full image SOOC (RAW image convereted to JPG, no adjustments made) of the one that looks in focus.

focus3.jpg

____________________
Body: Canon 6D, Canon T1i, Canon Elan II,
Glass: Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM, Canon 70-200 f/4 IS II, Canon 16-35 f/4, Canon 100 f/2.8 macro.
Flash: Canon Speedlite 430ex ii
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-21-2013

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

Does anyone know when the focus points do not show up when reviewing an image on the LCD?

____________________
Body: Canon 6D, Canon T1i, Canon Elan II,
Glass: Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM, Canon 70-200 f/4 IS II, Canon 16-35 f/4, Canon 100 f/2.8 macro.
Flash: Canon Speedlite 430ex ii
VIP
Posts: 8,508
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

Here is the menu setting that enables AF point display during playback

 

6D_Playback_AF_Points.PNG

 

You can also use Canon's DPP, Digital Photo Professional, software to display AF points during editing and processing.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,468
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

Has anyone got this to work? I just enabled it on my T6S and got nothing, and I tried all the various views, including the full information one.

VIP
Posts: 8,508
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????


@kvbarkley wrote:

Has anyone got this to work? I just enabled it on my T6S and got nothing, and I tried all the various views, including the full information one.


Are you using AI Servo mode?  The AF point display shows the focus point that was actively locked in at the moment the shutter was activated.  Try taking a photo in One Shot mode, and see if the AF point shows up.  Manually select the center AF point, when you do.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,468
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

No, I was using One Shot, and there were many focus points active. I will try to select one point, but I hope that does not make a difference.

 

Can you see focus points on your LCD during image playback?

VIP
Posts: 8,508
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

[ Edited ]

@kvbarkley wrote:

No, I was using One Shot, and there were many focus points active. I will try to select one point, but I hope that does not make a difference.

 

Can you see focus points on your LCD during image playback?


I do see the active AF point, as a red square, during playback, and it appears in all playback modes.  I am not using a T6s. 

 

The 6D and 7D2 have a similar menu selection and I do manually select the the center point, which is what I typically use at all times when shooting handheld.  I'm not typically shooting action photos, either.

 

Remember, it is not a display of whether or not, or where, the camera is focused.  It is displaying the active AF point at the moment the shutter fired.  It is not always necessary, or required, that an AF point be actively locked when the shutter fires.

 

{EDIT]  Take a static shot in green square mode.  That should definitely lock in and display.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,468
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????

I tried again. I don't use back button focus, so that is not the problem. I was in one shot, center point, but could still not see the focus point on playback. The only odd thing was that I was in "flicker" mode since it was indoor under the flourescents. I will try it outdoors today.

 

The OP hasn't said whether they are using BBF or not.

VIP
Posts: 8,508
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????


@kvbarkley wrote:

No, I was using One Shot, and there were many focus points active. I will try to select one point, but I hope that does not make a difference.

 

Can you see focus points on your LCD during image playback?


Did you ever get this to work?  It really shouldn't matter which focus point you select.  I only suggested the center point because the location of the resulting red box is known ahead of time, dead center of the image.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 8,508
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Focus point(s) not showing up on image review (focus issue)????


@kvbarkley wrote:

I tried again. I don't use back button focus, so that is not the problem. I was in one shot, center point, but could still not see the focus point on playback. The only odd thing was that I was in "flicker" mode since it was indoor under the flourescents. I will try it outdoors today.

 

The OP hasn't said whether they are using BBF or not.


Hmm.  Flicker might have something to do with AF points being "active" when the shutter fires.  An outdoor shot, one shot mode, A or P mode [you know the drill] should make something show up.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement