Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-17-2018

Finding Focal length info in camera 5dm3

When i look at the info for a shot in the camera LCD, all of the info for the camrea settings are there except for the focal length.  Is there a way to see the focal length of the lens when the shot is made in camera?  Once i export the phot to Bridge or Lightroom, i can see the focal length.  I am using a 5dm3.

Thanks,

Steve

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 686
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Finding Focal length info in camera 5dm3

[ Edited ]

The only way I know of to see the focal length is to install a 3rd party firmware called “Magic Lantern”.

 

Magic Lantern DOF info

 

 

 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
VIP
Posts: 10,937
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Finding Focal length info in camera 5dm3

Just look at the lens, I know not in the camera, but is a far better idea than Magic Lantern.  If ML screws up and it does, believe me on that one, only Canon can repair it.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-17-2018

Re: Finding Focal length info in camera 5dm3

Great info, ebiggs1.  Thanks for the relpy. 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,883
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Finding Focal length info in camera 5dm3


@paige5389 wrote:

Great info, ebiggs1.  Thanks for the relpy. 


Great advice, IMHO.  A photographer usually knows what focal he is shooting, though.  It comes with practice.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,803
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Finding Focal length info in camera 5dm3

This is embedded in the EXIF data of the files when you put them on your computer.  Nearly any photo editing program should let you view the info.  

 

From your question ... it made me wonder if you are "storing" all your shots on the memory card.  If so... don't do that.  Make sure you transfer the images to your computer.  (I also make a backup).  Then ... after you know everything has safely transferred without a problem ... wipe the card in preparation for the next time you go shooting.

 

 

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement