Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-23-2016

Filming Fireworks

I have search the web for filming fireworks and get nothing but photography.

 

I have a 70D. I have three lenses: 50MM 1.2; 100MM 2.9 and 18-135MM STM.

 

I plan to use the STM lens.

 

The first year I left auto focus on and auto much everythign on and got pretty good results most of the time when the camera wasn't trying to auto focus.

 

The second year I turned off auto focus and everything was blurry. I find it hard to focus well using manual through the small view finder.

 

I am looking for advise on how to set up the camera for filming fireworks. I have a tripod. I'd appreciate any advise you can give me, or any links to documentation on how to film fireworks.

 

Thanks,

S

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,753
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Filming Fireworks

http://www.learn.usa.canon.com/resources/articles/2011/qt_tips_photograph_fireworks_article.shtml

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-23-2016

Re: Filming Fireworks

Thanks, but this is for photography. I am looking for filming tips. I was able to find lots of tips for photography, but filming is a different beast.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Filming Fireworks


@sdyates2001 wrote:

I have search the web for filming fireworks and get nothing but photography.

 

I have a 70D. I have three lenses: 50MM 1.2; 100MM 2.9 and 18-135MM STM.

 

I plan to use the STM lens.

 

The first year I left auto focus on and auto much everythign on and got pretty good results most of the time when the camera wasn't trying to auto focus.

 

The second year I turned off auto focus and everything was blurry. I find it hard to focus well using manual through the small view finder.

 

I am looking for advise on how to set up the camera for filming fireworks. I have a tripod. I'd appreciate any advise you can give me, or any links to documentation on how to film fireworks.

 

Thanks,

S


You need to pre-focus the camera before setting it to manual focus. Use an aperture of f/8 so you have a lot of depth of field. Focus close to where they are launching the fireworks from, that way when they are in the air they will be slightly further away. That should keep them in within the depth of field at f/8. Good luck, and looking forward to seeing your results.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,341
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Filming Fireworks

You might also need to reduce exposure/use manual exposure. If the camera exposes for the night sky, the fireworks might over expose and come out just white.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-23-2016

Re: Filming Fireworks

Thanks. I'll try this. I was thinking of F11, but I'll try F8.

 

As for exposure. I never had a problem with exposure before with the 70D. I was actually very impressed. Once I get it into FCP, I can alter the exposure a little if it is off a bit.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,341
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Filming Fireworks

Not if it blows out the fireworks.

 

The whole point is to capture the colors. If you start recording with a black sky, it will boost exposure. When the fireworks hit, it will instantly over expose and the camera will not have time to compensate. You will blow out all the colors to white, and FCP will not be able to correct for it.

 

I had this issue with my camcorder.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Filming Fireworks


@sdyates2001 wrote:

Thanks. I'll try this. I was thinking of F11, but I'll try F8.

 

As for exposure. I never had a problem with exposure before with the 70D. I was actually very impressed. Once I get it into FCP, I can alter the exposure a little if it is off a bit.


f/11 would be fine too. Since you said it was out of focus before, it sounded like you were using a larger aperture (small f/number), which would give you a shallower depth of field.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-23-2016

Re: Filming Fireworks

Okay, then what would you recommend? I see a few options.

 

1) Wait til fireworks start, then start recording

2) Set exposure manually to a value

 

I am sure everyone would recommend the second option. So how do I make these changes. For a photo, I set up Av mode, but when I switch to video, I do not see these settings. How are video settings handled? Once I find exposure, should I pick 0?

 

When I press Q on the screen when in video mode, there is no option for exposure... The image below is on AV in photo mode.

 

IMG_0560.JPG

 

I am not just trying to pick everyone's brains, but learn as well Smiley Happy

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,341
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Filming Fireworks

Hie thee to the manual(heh!). Not the manual supplied in the box, but the full one on the DVD.

 

You might be able to just subtract some exposure compensation.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement