cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fair price for a high shutter count Canon 7D

mangurian
Rising Star

What should I pay ?

If it goes south, does Canon still repair something this old and would it be worth repairing?

3 REPLIES 3

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

There have been a few posts regarding shutter count recently. 

Shutter count is not fully representative of a body's overall reliability or remaining life expectancy.  More emphasis was put on mirror accuations and sensor "on" time. So I'd suggest taking more of these factors into consideration colectively.

The 7D is still actively supported and eligible for factory service.  See here

Repair as well as maintenance is avalable. 

As far as price.  Body free of damage.  Good overall & working condition...  $300-$400

Admittedly, I am not a proponent of buying used electronics.  I have no problem buyng Canon refurbished equipment.  A few of my lenses are refurbs purchased directly from Canon and have been nothing less than great. (And I mean perfect!)

You won't get me to recommend buying a 9 yr old camera (7D) 2009.  If it were me, I'd get an 80D (2016)

Comparison 

Yep.  It's double the price, but well worth it

Canon 80D refurb

The 7D is a capable body and if this is your pricepoint, you'll need to evaluate the overall condition and value.  Remember to factor in its age.  ~I'm biased against old tech.    

Good Luck

~Rick
Bay Area - CA

~R5 C (1.0.6.1) ~RF Trinity, ~RF 100 Macro, ~RF 100~400, ~RF 100~500, +RF 1.4x TC, +Canon Control Ring, BG-R10, 430EX III-RT ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~DaVinci Resolve ~Windows11 Pro ~ImageClass MF644Cdw/MF656Cdw ~Pixel 8
~CarePaks Are Worth It

@shadowsports wrote:

You won't get me to recommend buying a 9 yr old camera (7D) 2009.  If it were me, I'd get an 80D (2016)

Canon 80D refurb