Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,971
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Exposure issues with 5D MK IV and Tamron 150-600

 f/stop penalty and IQ loss are nice push button catch phrases when it comes to teleconverters.

 

But here is the reality, the Canon EF 100-400 L IS II with a teleconverter is still sharper than the Tamron 150-600 without a teleconverter. That really says something about the superb image quality of the EF 100-400 L IS II. 

 

As for the f/stop penalty Tamron already has a 1/3 stop 'penalty' since it is a f/6.3 lens at the long end. So the real f/stop penalty of using a teleconverter on the Canon EF 100-400 L IS II is 2/3 of a stop (f/6.3 vs f/8).

 

I'm not sure how the Tamron 150-600 G2 compares to the Canon EF 100-400 L IS II, but, I do know if the original Tamron 150-600 lived up to all its hype, Tamron would not have replaced it after only 3 years with a G2.

Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,971
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Exposure issues with 5D MK IV and Tamron 150-600

[ Edited ]

@SSipple wrote:

TTMartin, that is a very nice image, but it is no better than what I have shot with the Tamron 150-600.   I see absolutely no reason to purchase the Canon lens to replace what is an already excellent lens.  There is an issue with either the camera or lens that needs to be addressed and then everything will be fine.   The below image was shot while on a moving vehicle. 


Nice shot. That is a big if though. If the issue is with the lens are you willing to wait for Tamron to come out with a firmware fix, if they ever do.

These were also shot from a vehicle using the EF 100-400 L IS II and 1.4X TC III

A00A5858-2.jpg
A00A6106.jpg

edit: You can see the reflection of the vehicle in the Ostrich's eye.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-09-2017

Re: Exposure issues with 5D MK IV and Tamron 150-600

I am not quite sure what you are trying to prove here.    I shoot professionally for a local concert venue and have relied on my Tamron for years.   My shots will compare with anyone out there.     I don't think it is appropriate for you to continue to make comments to the effect that the lens is a piece of junk.    You like Canon...that is wonderful and I respect that.  It seems that you should respect that I have been very pleased with Tamron and the quality of my shots.   The shot I displayed of the elephant stands up against any shot out there.    

 

I came to this forum to see if by any chance anyone knew of any issues and an 'easy' fix that I was unaware of.    My camera is currently with Canon and the lens is with Tamron.     I am confident that both companies will do right by me in the end.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,250
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Exposure issues with 5D MK IV and Tamron 150-600

[ Edited ]

"It seems that you should respect that I have been very pleased with Tamron and the quality of my shots."

 

Don't hold you breath on that guy.  He is always like that.  You are on the right path and I am sure the issue will be resolved.

It seems Canon can upgrade their lenses but Tamron can't!  Right?  I would love to be able to give you the answer but I don't have that problem with my Tamron(s).  I owned the first 100-400mm and sold it after I got the first Tamron 150-600mm.  I tried the second version of the 100-400mm and was not sufficiently impressed with it either. Some folks like it and more power to'em.  Beside that fact it isn't 500mm or 600mm long.  Who wants to mess with a tele converter at all.  Let alone spending two grand on the lens and another $450 on the converter.

 

If were are not careful there is probably an MTF chart in our future.  Smiley Very Happy

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-09-2017

Re: Exposure issues with 5D MK IV and Tamron 150-600

Update:  

I got the camera back from Canon, and low and behold.....there was a problem with the camera!   They found that the adjustment of the ae assembly was incorrect and causing unevennuess in exposure!   I guess it is a good thing that I followed my instincts and sent the camera back as well as the lens!  

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,250
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Exposure issues with 5D MK IV and Tamron 150-600

"I followed my instincts and sent the camera back as well as the lens!"

 

Bingo!  Smiley Happy  Good to hear. I was kinda leaning that way, too.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement