Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-26-2017

Eos M3 ShutterCount

How do i check shutter count on CANON EOS M3? i try with shuttercount on osx and other software but nothing...

 

Cheers

Konrad

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,546
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount


konrad wrote:

How do i check shutter count on CANON EOS M3? i try with shuttercount on osx and other software but nothing...

 

Cheers

Konrad


A Canon service center might be able to tell you.  I'm not sure if every camera keeps track of the count.  Lots of people ask about this, and I have always wondered why.  I don't see how the information is really all that useful to an end user.  It would be useful to the design engineers, though.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
jr8
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-11-2018

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount

Most digital cameras use an electronic shutter that has finite number of possible activations (unlike mechanical shutters), after which it needs be replaced.  It's a factor when you're buying or selling (used) digital cameras.  It's a lot like the mileage on a car - once it reaches a certain mileage you need to replace some parts.  So, the shutter actuation count on a digital camera IS useful to everydaty end user as well as (design) engineers and super smart people.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,530
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount


@jr8 wrote:

Most digital cameras use an electronic shutter that has finite number of possible activations (unlike mechanical shutters), after which it needs be replaced.  It's a factor when you're buying or selling (used) digital cameras.  It's a lot like the mileage on a car - once it reaches a certain mileage you need to replace some parts.  So, the shutter actuation count on a digital camera IS useful to everydaty end user as well as (design) engineers and super smart people.


I don't believe a word of that. Let's see your proof.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
jr8
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-11-2018

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount

Canon officially lists most of its cameras shutter life expectancies at between 50,000 and 150,000 (with the 1D models averaging a bit higher at between 200 and 400K). According to Kikin’s database, you should expect closer to 350K out of your 5D. It may be surprising, but not implausible.  Google and find out.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,546
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount


@jr8 wrote:

Most digital cameras use an electronic shutter that has finite number of possible activations (unlike mechanical shutters), after which it needs be replaced.  It's a factor when you're buying or selling (used) digital cameras.  It's a lot like the mileage on a car - once it reaches a certain mileage you need to replace some parts.  So, the shutter actuation count on a digital camera IS useful to everydaty end user as well as (design) engineers and super smart people.


Like I said, the shutter count is not very useful to the average user.  The count is not an indication of when you need to replace your shutter.  Nor is it an indication that a shutter is about to fail.  A shutter will fail whenever it gets good and ready.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-11-2018

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount

In my experience, folks who buy used DSLRs often want to know what the shutter count is, much like tused car buyers want to know the mileage.

 

I find it curious and irritating that Canon don't simply make this information available in the menus somewhere. Obviously, the data is stored in the camera, so all we need is a readout. having to send the camera to a service centre for such a simple procedure is absurd.

 

I use a third-party program, though I have heard that Canon will not confirm the accuracy of such programs. That's fair enough - they didn't make the code after all, but their apparent lack of cooperation with third party programmers alerts the cynic in me.

 

Have Canon ever explained why they make this so hard?

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,546
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount


@Steves_8 wrote:

In my experience, folks who buy used DSLRs often want to know what the shutter count is, much like tused car buyers want to know the mileage.

 

I find it curious and irritating that Canon don't simply make this information available in the menus somewhere. Obviously, the data is stored in the camera, so all we need is a readout. having to send the camera to a service centre for such a simple procedure is absurd.

 

I use a third-party program, though I have heard that Canon will not confirm the accuracy of such programs. That's fair enough - they didn't make the code after all, but their apparent lack of cooperation with third party programmers alerts the cynic in me.

 

Have Canon ever explained why they make this so hard?


Making it easy to access could make it easier to alter.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
jr8
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-11-2018

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount

Isn't it the same for cars (the mileage) too?!
jr8
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-11-2018

Re: Eos M3 ShutterCount

Exactly.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement