Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2021
Accepted Solution

Electronic shutter - was it used ?

I shot some 3000 images at a recent Mountain Bike event with my relatively new R5. I used the opportunity to experiment with different camera setting and perhaps naively assumed that I'd be able to tell from the EXIF data whether or not I'd used the electronic shutter.

 

I'm not surprised that Lightroom won't tell me but I was sure that DPP would show it.

 

For the life of me I can't find it anywhere and I can't find anything about if it's possible using Google. Any attempt to frame the question brings back a lot of links about using electronic shutter.

 

Can anyone here advise me if it's possible to determine what shutter mode was used to take a picture and if so how ?

 

Many thanks

 

Pete

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-08-2021

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

Camera has 3 choices for the shutter. As far as I know the shutter settings are not recorded in image data other than speed.

Screen Shot 2021-10-14 at 8.45.50 AM.jpg

VIP
Posts: 8,570
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

I have a 1D X Mark III with ES. 

 

I verified that the Info tab in DPP does not list which shutter type was used. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-22-2021

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

I use exiftool on both my Debian Linux machine and on my iMac.

 

Exiftool reports for a CR3 file:

"Shutter Curtain Sync : 1st-curtain sync"

 

Or an example command line for a JPEG file to show only that value:

exiftool -ShutterCurtainHack IMG_4652c.JPG

 

---
https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,986
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

That's a flash setting, it has nothing to do with electronic or mechanical shutter.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-22-2021

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

Sorry, you are correct


@kvbarkley wrote:

That's a flash setting, it has nothing to do with electronic or mechanical shutter.


 

---
https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-22-2021

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

I am making a wild guess here. I used exiftool -v -U to dump 3 black frame photos made in manual mode with the three shutter modes and looked at the differences. The "100" value for flash info is there for electronic shutter and not for electronic first curtain nor for mechanical. This might be a way to identify use of electronic shutter if there is different flash behavior in elctronic shutter mode. I have also included two other diff fragments that I might guess would be worth looking at.

 

< | | | | 2) CanonFlashInfo = 100 0 0 0
---
> | | | | 2) CanonFlashInfo = 0 0 0 0

 

In this diff fragment, electronic shutter is to the left and mechanical shutter to the right:

2692c2692
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x09ed = 29
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x09ed = 3
2732c2732
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0a15 = 2
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0a15 = 0
2912c2912
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0ac9 = 100
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0ac9 = 0

 

In this diff fragment, electronic first curtain is to the left and electronic shutter is to the right:

2692c2692
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x09ed = 1
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x09ed = 29
2732c2732
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0a15 = 1
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0a15 = 2
2912c2912
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0ac9 = 0
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0ac9 = 100

---
https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-22-2021

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

It might be coincidence, but I suspect that this value is shutter mode:

 

2732c2732
< | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0a15 = 2
---
> | | | | Canon_CameraInfoUnknown_0x0a15 = 0

 

0 == mechanical

1 == electronic first curtain

2 == electronic shutter

 

 

---
https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,104
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?

Could you take 3 pictures of each and upload the raw files?
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-22-2021

Re: Electronic shutter - was it used ?


@Peter wrote:
Could you take 3 pictures of each and upload the raw files?

I put 3 raw files and text dumps of the output of exiftool on my web server at https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/raw/

I hope this helps. I do not know where else to upload them.

---
https://www.rsok.com/~jrm/
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement