Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

He there. Were you ever able to get this fixed? I just got my R6 yesterday, updated it to 1.1.1, and also I can't connect to anything. Even when I connect via Bluetooth it times out immediately. It's strange because it connected 1 time initially but then hasn't again.
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

I can reliably connect via bluetooth (when the camera sets up the access point). But if the camera has to connect to wifi first (say, for ftp), it only works if I do a tricky dance that involves going outside my house and then running indoors once it starts to connect...

For bluetooth make sure you have BT and wifi turned on an then use the "easy connect" first on the app. Hopefully there's an entry for connecting to your camera via bluetooth.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

Thanks for following up. Even with Bluetooth I'm immediately getting "Connection target not found" the issue is that this feature isn't a huge deal because i hardly shoot remotely but to not be able to use it seeing i switched back from shooting sony for similar reasons is frustrating for sure. 

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

I would try 'reset all network settings', unpair the device from your phone and set it up again
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

See https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4509660?page=4

 

Looks like this is a known problem connecting R5/R6 to eero mesh networks, and there's (another) workaround.

 

Hopefully a future firmware update will fix this permanently.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-24-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

Thanks for that info. Sure enough i'm using an eero. 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

Hi All,

 

I faced the same issue and identified the problem + kind of a solution.

Each WiFi router transmits the signal on certain Channel (1-13) and Channel Width (20/40 MHz). Usually the best channels are 1, 6 and 11, whereas the width depends on the signal congestion in the area. What I noticed while trying to find my SSID was that mostly networks with channels 6, 9 and 11 were shown in the R6 list.

 

My settings were set to Channel 13 / 40 MHz.

 

When I updated them to CH 9 / 20MHz, then only my network SSID was displayed in the list and I was able to connect without any problem. I tried with 6 / 20 MHz and it also worked.

 

So, basically, CANON must fix the WiFi configuration in both R5 and R6 so that users can connect easily like with any other device.

 

Cheers,

Marian

 

P.S. I also replied in the DPreview thread.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

Thanks, however there's no way to change the channel on the eero. What type of wifi router do you have?

 

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

Well, it seems eero is kind of limited in this respect. I am using a TP-Link router. It supports mesh devices too even though I don't have any.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2020

Re: EOS R6 WiFi failure (2nd camera)

I just tried the new firmware 1.2.0 on my R6 and this does not fix the problem.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement