Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,558
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS R5 known bugs


@Charly_Canon wrote:

Well, if you can provide me with a link to report this common problem on the R5 , I surely will report it. I look forward to your reply


Unsurprisingly, the Support phone number is on the Canon Web site.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

No one is answering surprisingly enough Smiley Mad

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

Friends, I did report the problems I've been having to Canon support (via email).  I got a prompt reply from a tech who read my report of problems (as in my earlier post).  He was responsive and polite.  He had no solutions but said he would forward my account of the problems "to engineering".

 

Quite obviously the R5, wonderful camera that it is, is not *quite* ready for prime time.  I'd advise against relying it as your sole camera on assignment until the problems have been addressed with appropriate firmware updates.  I haven't had a chance to retest with firmware 1.1.1.  But, based on the reponses above, it's probably not bug-free just yet.

 

Can't wait for that happy moment.  It really is a wonderful camera.

Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 1,702
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: EOS R5 known bugs


@Charly_Canon wrote:

No one is answering surprisingly enough Smiley Mad


Hello!

 

We're sorry to hear that you're having an issue with your camera. We encourage you to reach out to support via your My Canon Account at canon.us/account

 

If you're outside of the USA, support in your country/region can be found HERE.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

Thank you

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-06-2017

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

I just had the same thing happen with my EF100-400L. Had to take battery out twice. Shifted to RF70-200 and no issues.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-05-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

I had similar problems 😠

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

It still happens on my RF70-200 . This major issue is not lens specific, its a faut with R5

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

It looks like there is a bug in FV mode, where if you set values for the Shutter/Aperture/ISO it does not start metering.

If you have any of the Shutter/Aperture/ISO set to Auto, then the meter is Auto and becomes exposure compenstation.  But when you do not have anything set to Auto, it should start metering so you can balance the exposures as if you were in Manual mode.  If FV mode would enable metering, then I would be able to use FV mode full time instead of Manual, as it would switch from manual into AV/TV/etc when one of the values is set to Auto.

 

It would also be useful if there was a setting such that in FV mode you could use the 3 dials similar as to Manual mode to adjust the Shutter/Aperture/ISO instead of using one dial to select Shutter/Aperture/ISO and then using another to adjust the value.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-08-2020

Re: EOS R5 known bugs

The freeze/ lock up issue appears to point to the main circuit board which needs replaced according to several online friends. Unfortunately the Canon repair centres dont have any spare parts!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement