Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2020

EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

I'm an achitectural photographer and visit many residential homes. I've used the 5DsR for the past 5 years with no issues using the Wi-Fi feature. 

 

This was my second shoot with my new R5. In my clients home I could not get my camera to connect via WiFi to my laptop or smartphone. It was stuck in a loop displaying "Searching for access points" 

 

I finished the shoot with my now backup camera the 5DsR with WiFi, zero issues.

 

I find it unreasonable that a brand new professional camera exhibits these type of problems. Canon tech support mentioned router interference, this is also unreasonable to ask my clients to turn off their routers or hunt down some neighbor with an offending connection. Back in my hotel room the camera Wi-Fi started working again. The issue might be connected to my clients home mesh network. Not sure.

 

Any help or routing this issue to Canon engineering would be appreciated. 

VIP
Posts: 11,946
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

How far apart are the laptop/phone and the R5 camera?

 

An alternative is to use Bluetooth, which will limit your working distance.  But, Bluetooth can also be used to initiate a connection via Wi-Fi.  Not sure how it works in the mirrorless bodies, but in DSLRs Bluetooth is used to automate the connection to Wi-Fi.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2020

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

The laptop and phone were right next to the camera. Bluetooth connected but required a Wi-Fi connection to enable the advanced features.

 

My older 5DsR that was also on site worked flawlessly via Wi-Fi with the Canon W-E1 adapter. 

 

The R5 has issues with certain networks and they cause a hang up in the camera's software menu. It does not go to the next step to give you the option of a direct connection. It will stay in "Searching for access points" indefinitely. 

VIP
Posts: 11,946
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

Sounds like you are connecting to the local access point in the customers home.  Contact Canon Support.  Others have reported issues connect to mesh networks, too.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
VIP
Posts: 11,946
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

I have a wireless router that I carry in my bag, so tha t do not have to go through changes to make a Wi-Fi connection when I am in the field.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2020

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

I have a small battery powered Wi-Fi router too. The R5 camera software stays hung up on "Searching for access points" and never goes to the next step in letting you select a network or make a direct connection. 

 

Whatever the offending nearby Wi-Fi network was I'm not in a position to turn it off or hunt it down on a professional shoot with clients/homeowners nearby. 

 

The camera (R5) returned to normal once I left the site. The fact that my older 5DsR established a direct connection with my laptop on-set leads me to belive its some kind of glitch in the R5 wifi software/hardware 

 

VIP
Posts: 11,946
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

"The camera (R5) returned to normal once I left the site. The fact that my older 5DsR established a direct connection with my laptop on-set leads me to belive its some kind of glitch in the R5 wifi software/hardware "

 

Does the Wi-Fi adapter also work with the R5?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-02-2020

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

No, the Canon W-E1 Wi-Fi adapter is for EOS 7D Mark II, EOS 5DS and EOS 5DS R only

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-17-2021

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

Any solution to this issue?  I just purchased an R5 and am having the same problem.  Very distressing!!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-25-2021

Re: EOS R5 Wi-Fi Issues “Searching for access points” loop

I have the exact same issue ... cannot get wifi on R5 to working ... stuck on "search for access point" ...  When will it be fixed... Cannot believe a $4k camera has this type of the issue ...

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement