cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R with Shure VP83F mic

greggp
Enthusiast

I recently purchase the Shure VP83F shotgun mic to use with my EOS R. The VP83F can also record to an internal microSD card at a higher resolution than the EOS R's preamp (the camera records at 16-bit 48 KHz and the VP83F records to its microSD card at 24-bit 48 kHz).

I'm relatively new to video and this is the first external mic I've used with my camera.

When you attach the mic to the camera's mic-in connection, does the camera's recording level control the mic level, or is it a combination of the camera's recording level and the VP83F's mic gain setting? If it is a combination of the camera's recording level and the VP83F's mic gain, is it better to set the camera's recording level low and the VP83F a little higher to try to get the audio peaks around -6 dB?

The VP83 has a camera out setting that corresponds to the camera's preamp sensitivity. The options are low, med, or high. So I assume if the EOS R's preamp is very sensitive, then the mic's camera out setting should be high. Does that sound right?

I'll probably just use the camera's internal mic while simultaneously record using the VP83F (to the microSD card) and then sync the audio within DaVinci Resolve in post. That way I'll get the highest quality audio. Is this a good strategy? Also the auto-sync in Resolve is a little tricky. It's too bad there isn't an easy way to set the record button on the mic at about the same time as you set record on the camera. Since the duration of the camera's A/V and the mic's audio are different, the auto-sync feature doesn't work as well as it would if the durations were closely matched.

Thanks in advance for your help/advice!

-Gregg

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend