cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R white balance issue

Rick7S
Contributor
I own a 5D and a 5D mark II, for several years i have used a lastolite gray target with a white side on reverse, ima studio shooter so lighint is pretty much a controlled environment, i bought the EOS R and since i started shooting with this camera for some reason the white balance is all over the place, i shoot the gray and the white targets and when i go to lightroom and use the dropper on the targets images come put super yellow and redtones on the skin look weird, im not knew at this process as im a photographer for 10 years now, could something be wrong with the camera? I performe the shots ln gray target with 5d and immediately with the eos r and its totally wrong the white balance, am i doing sonething wrong with this new system?
18 REPLIES 18

Sounds like the cause!

But this sentence is key and is exactly how I see things when using Adobe software.

"I wouldn't expect the WB values to match your in-camera setting exactly, but they should be reasonably close."

Canon does not document how their Raw files work. Adobe has to 'best guess'. As do all other post editors. Whether you like or not like how Adobe does this is up to you.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I would see what you get in DPP4. After you know how it handles your images shot in Raw then you can see any difference in LR.  

Would there be anything to gain if you first set your exposure with your subject in the frame and then have your subject hold the gray card in the frame for you to get your W/B under the same lighting and exposure conditions?

@BurnUnit wrote:

Would there be anything to gain if you first set your exposure with your subject in the frame and then have your subject hold the gray card in the frame for you to get your W/B under the same lighting and exposure conditions?