Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,584
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels


@hearkg wrote:

Please create a firmware upgrade to allow us to use the whole sensor with ef-s lenses if any of the people at Canon Read this.

I know that the image circle of an ef-s lens can't cover the whole sensor. But wider lenses are capable of producing very good macro images when mounted backwords. I have a 100mm macro lens but I really want to use my old 18-55mm kit lens as a great macro lens because it produces larger magnification than the 1:1 100mm macro lens.
please allow us to use the whole sensor with ef-s lenses. 🙏🥺🙏🥺🙏

Make the firmware to change the mode to 1.6x crop whenever an ef-s lens is attached to the camera but let us change it back to full sensor mode in the menu, so the people who know about this will change intentionally and no one will complain about the huge vignette when mounted in the foward direction.
Please.......


I'm sorry, but your issue does not make any sense.  When you reverse a lens there no longer any electronic connections being made between lens and camera.  So, why would the camera body think you are using a EF-S lens, or any lens for that matter?  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-19-2020

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

Thanks for the reply,

I think you havn't heard of "meike mk-c-up reverse mount adapter".
have a look at it.
20200420_114222_HDR.jpg

 

so, here I'm holding a full frame super macro lens that can autofocus with aperture controll and Image stabilization.
this works perfectly with DSLRs.
the only problem is the 1.6x crop enforcement in EOS-R.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,584
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

[ Edited ]

I have heard of that adapter.  You could have mentioned it from the start.

 

[EDIT] It is a littlle bit of a surprise to learn that the adapter transmits the lens type to the camera.  That's a pretty neat trick because I always thought that this was done mechanically.

 

I have a cheap 1.4x telecom, which I can use to attach an EF-S lens a full frame body.  Of course, I see the full image circle.  My point is that the lens mount info is not transmitted to the camera body, even though I have full electronic control of the lens.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-19-2020

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

Anyways, the important thing is to let Canon know that we need a firmware update to overcome this issue.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-19-2020

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

[ Edited ]

yes actually a teleconverter may have a circuit inside it because the displayed aperture values in camera needs to be changed when the lens is mounted with a teleconverter and as a result the camera will not directly communicate with the lenses.

These extension tubes and reverse mount adapters don't have any electronic circuits inside them, they are having just a bunch of wires connecting the lens to the camera body. so, the camera can directly communicate with the lens.

Smiley Happy

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,247
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels


@hearkg wrote:

Anyways, the important thing is to let Canon know that we need a firmware update to overcome this issue.


Ain't gonna happen.

Will you volunteer to man the phone lines to handle all the calls canon will get complaining that the edges of the image are poor quality when using EF-S lenses?

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-30-2018

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

I have had my R for a year now the only issue I have now is the inability to use high-speed shutter on very few of my EF lenses. This was not known up front and all of the data states ef lenses were completely compatible if you use the Canon adapter. I have a lot of Canon ef L series glass and most won't work in high speed. They will all work on my M50 with adapter at 10fps...but my R that cost 3.5 times more can't...glad I kept the 80D and the M50 though I love the R this is my biggest issue.
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 13,180
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

"Anyways, the important thing is to let Canon know that we need a firmware update to overcome this issue."

 

Canon is never, reasonably so, and will never make a FW to make sure third party accessories work on their cameras. As a matter of fact Canon will discourage their use.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,584
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels


@hearkg wrote:

yes actually a teleconverter may have a circuit inside it because the displayed aperture values in camera needs to be changed when the lens is mounted with a teleconverter and as a result the camera will not directly communicate with the lenses.

These extension tubes and reverse mount adapters don't have any electronic circuits inside them, they are having just a bunch of wires connecting the lens to the camera body. so, the camera can directly communicate with the lens.

Smiley Happy


Aperture values have nothing, repeat nothing, to do with the type of lens mount.  Let me repeat that again.  Transmitting aperture control data has NOTHING to do with the type of lens mount.  Nothing.

 

You are probable correct, when you say that these Meike reverse mount adapters do not have any electronic circuits inside of them.  They do not cost enough to have any internal smarts.  You should probably use a full frame lens, instead of an APS-C lens.  I'd bet that the EF 50mm f/1.8 STM could do a pretty good job of it.

 

BTW, seeing how this item is no longer in production with Meike, I think your suggestion for a firmware update is not only wishful thinking, but it has become entirely moot.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-19-2020

Re: EOS R, EF-S Lens Crop Loss of Megapixels

Hi, @

it might not happen if they do it like this
Capture.JPG

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement