cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 70D soft images

drrhein
Contributor

Hello Everybody.  My name is Dennis and I'm a newb, not to dslr's but to this model, so please have mercy on me.

First question: When using the image processing software, PF 4  should I be able to go to 100% and still have a sharp image?

Every image I take, with any lens, whether I focus manually or with AF, seems soft to me and I can't often make it sharper in post. I use raw.

MY Iphone 8+ does fine at 100% and is razor sharp.

Next: How in the world do you get good focus on water fountains? I can't get any kind of decent focus with MF or AF.

The attached examples are resized to make size limit but to get the size limit I'm afraid I lost resolution, so there's another question.

BTW, my 10D does same thing

Dennis

Blossom small.jpgBlosson red small.jpg

32 REPLIES 32

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

To get a focus on a waterfall, focus to the bank at the side with a half press of the shutter button, hold the button and recompose.

Generally, I have found that moving water has enough contrast to focus.

The fountail I'm trying to get has nothing on either side to focus on.

@drrhein wrote:

The fountail I'm trying to get has nothing on either side to focus on.

Depending upon the nature of the fountain, you can focus on the edge of the water.  Sometimes you can focus on the base of the fountain, down where the water is being released.

It helps to know the DOF, depth of field, of your shooting scenario.  The plane of focus will give you the sharpest image.  But objects a little behind, or in front of, the plane of focus can appear “acceptably” sharp, too.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend