cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 70D soft images

drrhein
Contributor

Hello Everybody.  My name is Dennis and I'm a newb, not to dslr's but to this model, so please have mercy on me.

First question: When using the image processing software, PF 4  should I be able to go to 100% and still have a sharp image?

Every image I take, with any lens, whether I focus manually or with AF, seems soft to me and I can't often make it sharper in post. I use raw.

MY Iphone 8+ does fine at 100% and is razor sharp.

Next: How in the world do you get good focus on water fountains? I can't get any kind of decent focus with MF or AF.

The attached examples are resized to make size limit but to get the size limit I'm afraid I lost resolution, so there's another question.

BTW, my 10D does same thing

Dennis

Blossom small.jpgBlosson red small.jpg

32 REPLIES 32

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

Try making something like a 800 x 600 px crop of a detail area of the whole image where you think you're seeing the problem. And try to leave your EXIF data intact so we can see the actual shot settings.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"When using the image processing software, PF 4  should I be able to go to 100% and still have a sharp image?"

Not necessarily.  What is PF4?  Does it have Canon lens correction built in? 

Focusing on a fountain or any subject that doesn't offer a good point to focus on is easy. Find something that is nearly the same distance and focus on it. Keep your finger on the shutter button and recompose. Plus there always the old way and do a manual focus. Not as easy as it was in the olden days but still viable.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend
“The 1/10 shot was MF using live view X10. inside with bright defused white lights, on tripod and released with external release. If there was shake in the system I don't know where it came from.”