cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 70D soft images

drrhein
Contributor

Hello Everybody.  My name is Dennis and I'm a newb, not to dslr's but to this model, so please have mercy on me.

First question: When using the image processing software, PF 4  should I be able to go to 100% and still have a sharp image?

Every image I take, with any lens, whether I focus manually or with AF, seems soft to me and I can't often make it sharper in post. I use raw.

MY Iphone 8+ does fine at 100% and is razor sharp.

Next: How in the world do you get good focus on water fountains? I can't get any kind of decent focus with MF or AF.

The attached examples are resized to make size limit but to get the size limit I'm afraid I lost resolution, so there's another question.

BTW, my 10D does same thing

Dennis

Blossom small.jpgBlosson red small.jpg

32 REPLIES 32

The 1/10 shot was MF using live view X10. inside with bright  defused white lights,  on tripod and released with external release. If there was shake in the system I don't know where it came from.

The focus on the flower was dead on but clearly not. I have no earthly idea how I could get it focused better as AF was worse.

they were all cropped to get the size down for the 10mb limit here.

The turtle popped up while I was shooting landscape using f14 for DOF and all I did was refocus quickly. Idealy I would have used maybe f4 for that shot. The landscapes seemed fine although any blowup at all in post shows soft to me.

I'll try resetting and shooting some stuff in the AM.

I just read a review of these xxD camerias and it found the image quality and sharpness no better than an 8 out of 10.

Maybe what I'm fighting with by expecting more but you'd think at this price I'd get something at least as good as an iphone.

Dennis

Is this shot in focus to you?

2320540014832019_05_111002599.jpg