Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2017

EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

Hi,

 

First time here; just picked up the EOS 6D Mark II, and thought I might need some expert tutelage.  Smiley Wink

 

I understand with a new camera model the RAW file format changes. I use Windows 10, which will preview RAW files, but does not display the 6D Mark II files.

 

Presumably Windows will require an update with some sort of CODEC to display the new RAW files. I'm wondering if anyone can say how and when this might happen. Is it something Canon has to provide, or is it a Microsoft thing?

 

I used to shoot RAW+Jpeg simply to have a way to identify pics in Explorer. I was glad to upgrade to Win 10 and be able to shoot straight RAW.

 

Thanks,

Ray

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview


@RaySiS wrote:

Hi,

 

First time here; just picked up the EOS 6D Mark II, and thought I might need some expert tutelage.  Smiley Wink

 

I understand with a new camera model the RAW file format changes. I use Windows 10, which will preview RAW files, but does not display the 6D Mark II files.

 

Presumably Windows will require an update with some sort of CODEC to display the new RAW files. I'm wondering if anyone can say how and when this might happen. Is it something Canon has to provide, or is it a Microsoft thing?

 

I used to shoot RAW+Jpeg simply to have a way to identify pics in Explorer. I was glad to upgrade to Win 10 and be able to shoot straight RAW.

 

Thanks,

Ray


Did you install the Canon software?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2017

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

Well, that was a good thought. I hadn't really used DPP or EOS utilities previously, so I hadn't bothered installing the new editions. So I installed the package and ... still no RAW thumbnails or preview in Explorer.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎10-21-2016

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

Windows 10 on it's own will not display raw files, it only shows the low resolution preview jpg image that is built into the raw file. You need to install additional software to work with the raw file.

Moderator
Posts: 1,341
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

Hello everyone!

 

Canon provides the tools to read the RAW files with the camera in the form of the EOS Utility. Integration with the OS is completely up to the OS provider. In this instance, Microsoft. 

 

In the past, Microsoft has made codecs downloadable as codec packs, or as part of Windows Updates, depending on the version of Windows you're using. Since the EOS 6D Mark II is a new camera, it's just a matter of time before Microsoft (or Apple for Mac users) rolls out RAW support to computers. 

 

If you need a timeline for Explorer support on RAW files, you'll want to reach out to Microsoft. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2017

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

[ Edited ]

Understood, Ray-UK. But I am not getting the preview jpg displayed in Explorer. This is what I am after simply as a means of quickly identifying and sorting images. The RAW files on my previous Canon DSLR show as thumbnails and in the preview pane, so I'm presuming there is an update required in Windows 10 to show the new RAW files.

 

Thanks, Stephen. I wasn't sure if this was supplied by Canon to end users or to MS .

Moderator
Posts: 1,341
Registered: ‎10-25-2012

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

[ Edited ]

RaySis,

 

You're right.

 

Every camera that supports RAW files will have a different version of RAW. Canon's files all end in .CR2. The reason RAW files are all different is because it's RAW data from the sensor - complied into a file that your camera, and a computer can make sense of. For that reason, every single camera requires a new codec, which is a technical term for "translator" to be able to read the new RAW file. Without the codec, your computer has no idea how to translate the data so it can show you the thumbnail JPEG preview.

 

Now, I don't work for Microsoft, so I apologize in advance if I'm incorrect, but as I understand it, the way the RAW codecs in Windows work is that they read the CR2 files and append the database of thumbnails file that is in the folder where the RAW file resides. This file is usually hidden, but it references this file so that it can display the thumbnails every time. 

 

What this means is that unless you shoot RAW+JPG (at least for now), you won't see anything in Windows Explorer except for an icon that lets you know a photo is there, and you'll need to use Digital Photo Professional (DPP) or another software that has been updated with 6D Mark II RAW support to view your files efficiently. 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2018

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview

I don't really consider this "Solved" as an existing functionality that is standard and expected for a product line is broken. Installing an application with a built-in codec is a workaround, not a solution. Nor it it the customers job to apply pressure to another company on behalf of Canon. That's what you hire relationship managers for. Relationship managers have specific skills and resources. They are more effective...and it's their job.

Bottom line...each customer paid $2k for a camera. We expect Canon to advocate on our behalf and to refrain from asking to manage their relationship and technical issues for them.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview


@pthompso201wrote:
I don't really consider this "Solved" as an existing functionality that is standard and expected for a product line is broken. Installing an application with a built-in codec is a workaround, not a solution. Nor it it the customers job to apply pressure to another company on behalf of Canon. That's what you hire relationship managers for. Relationship managers have specific skills and resources. They are more effective...and it's their job.

Bottom line...each customer paid $2k for a camera. We expect Canon to advocate on our behalf and to refrain from asking to manage their relationship and technical issues for them.

Canon provides users with a driver, which users must install.  Computers have worked that way for decades.  

It is not incumbent on Microsoft to make the OS compatible with every third party manufacturer.  It is the responsibility of the third party manufacturers to meet the compatibility standards established by Microsoft.  If installing software to make your gear work is too much to ask, I do not know what to say.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,891
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS 6D Mark II - Windows 10 RAW preview


@Waddizzlewrote:

@pthompso201wrote:
I don't really consider this "Solved" as an existing functionality that is standard and expected for a product line is broken. Installing an application with a built-in codec is a workaround, not a solution. Nor it it the customers job to apply pressure to another company on behalf of Canon. That's what you hire relationship managers for. Relationship managers have specific skills and resources. They are more effective...and it's their job.

Bottom line...each customer paid $2k for a camera. We expect Canon to advocate on our behalf and to refrain from asking to manage their relationship and technical issues for them.

Canon provides users with a driver, which users must install.  Computers have worked that way for decades.  

It is not incumbent on Microsoft to make the OS compatible with every third party manufacturer.  It is the responsibility of the third party manufacturers to meet the compatibility standards established by Microsoft.  If installing software to make your gear work is too much to ask, I do not know what to say.


And with DPP 4 installed and selected as the default "open with" program, the thumbnails display just fine.

 

FWIW. I use Irfanview as the default for .JPG files, because it lets me set the IPTC metadata. (BTW, Canon, why doesn't DPP let me do that? DPP pretends to let me at least look at the IPTC metadata, but even that doesn't work.)

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement