cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 5D Mark IV going into sleep mode when not on a tripod

BobDammit
Contributor

Hi, guys.

I’m a Realtor who also has a photography company.  I’m usually using my Mark IV on a tripod.  Recently, when adjusting my ball head and camera for a portrait shot, the camera would go into sleep mode.  The display and camera would go blank, and any settings I just changed would not be saved when the camera came back on after readjusting the camera position to landscape.  This was kind of frustrating, but I would just save all of my portrait pictures on the tripod for the end of the real estate shoot and then take my wide angle, put it on my 6D, put the camera in a portrait position and finish the shoot.

Well now the Mark IV will go into this sleep mode when it’s not on the tripod at all.  If it’s level in the landscape position it’s just fine.  But as soon as I take it off of the tripod to do handheld shots it turns off.  Not all the way, just into sleep mode.  When it’s level again, it’ll come back on. 

I’ve got a maternity shoot on Saturday and right now I’m going to be forced to only use my 6D unless I use the tripod and Mark IV for the whole shoot and then use my 6D to get additional shots with a different lens like I normally would, but I don’t want to be restricted to a tripod for my main camera.

Has anyone experienced this at all?  I don’t know if there’s a setting that I can change.  I’m not sure if there’s some sort of level recalibration in the settings.  I hope I don’t have to send it in.  It’s not even a year old and it’s my main camera.

Any insist would be greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

My first thought was that it might be the proximity sensor, but this model doesn't have one, so that's a no-go.