Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !


@thirdeye wrote:
Strange because when I put it on wireless flash . I get instancemsg ( wireless device is not connected )

Do you have the external flash set to slave mode?

 

As mentioned above the flash control menu setting you are using is the 'Built-in flash func. setting' menu.

 

The 'External flash func. setting' menu is for when the external flash is physically attached to the camera.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-16-2015

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !

Thank you so much. I'll need to look at the manual and try it again.
That was helpful
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-20-2015

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !

That explains it. I figured since 70D has wireless and so does my 600EX surely Canon implemented remote flash but no. Another money grab :/

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,809
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !

A 70D built-in flash WILL trigger a 600EX flash.  

 

Keep in mind that the 600EX-RT has 5 different modes... (1) standalone, (2) radio master, (3) radio slave, (4) optical master, and (5) optical slave.    In order to use the 70D as the master and the 600EX-RT as an off-camera wireless flash, the 600EX-RT must be put into optical slave mode.

 

There's a zig-zag arrow button on the left side of the 600EX-RT.  Press that several times (each time advances it to the next mode... when it gets to the last mode it loops around to the first mode again.  Think of it as a circle of modes.)    As you press it, watch the upper-right corner of the LCD panel.  You're looking for a lightning bolt icon in the upper right conrer and the row below should say "slave" (there's a "master" and "slave" mode with the lightning bolt.. you want "slave").

 

Also... make sure the camera and flash agree to use the same "channel" number.  It will probably default to "1" and that's fine. If you're shooting around several other photographers who also use the wireless E-TTL system you can change the channel to avoid being on the same channel as another photographer.

 

The flash also gets a "group" letter as a slave.  The groups are "A", "B", or "C".  The camera (as a master) can be in either "ALL" mode or it can trigger specific channels.  The flash likely will default to "A".  Just make sure the camera is either in "ALL" mode -OR- the same letter as your remote flash (e.g. "A").

 

If the channels are correct and the group is correct and the flash is in optical slave mode AND you enable the flash on the 70D AND enable the "wireless func." mode for the remote flash THEN it will fire for your 70D (they are compatible.)

 

If you're having difficulty you might want to step through the instructions in the 70D manual or just ask for help.  It does work...  no extra gear is needed.

 

The 600EX-RT also supports radio mode.  The only "radio" devices in the Canon line (currently) are the 600EX-RT flash and the ST-E3-RT Transmitter.  The 600EX-RT can work as master or slave in either radio or optical mode.  The ST-E3-RT Transmitter can only work as a "master" and only in radio mode.  No cameras have a built-in radio transmitter (that's actually true of all camera companies.)  Everyone else is either optical flash ... or you have to buy 3rd party tranceivers to do radio.  Canon's new radio flash system is currently the most advanced system in the industry.

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,809
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !


@TTMartin wrote:

Try it yourself in a mirror.

Just be sure to use a high enough ISO and wide enough aperture to pick up the flash at minimum power.

 

I just tested iit with my 7D and 430EX II in slave mode, it fires at very low power when the shutter is open, and is visible in the photo.

 

And yes I had the menu settings correct.

 

 If you absolutely can't have the onboard flash visible at all in the photo, you need to use some sort of IR filter (IR transmitting, not IR cut) like I linked above.


Interesting... I'll have to test this.  I tested by shooting in a dark room and noted that while I could see the flash fire, the photo captured by the camera was black.   I may test the mirror when I get a chance (my 5D II & III don't have built-in flash, but I have a 60Da.  I don't have a 70D.)  

 

I'm wondering how bright the reflection in the mirror was.  Might it have been afterglow of the gas cooling down?  

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !

[ Edited ]

@TCampbell wrote:

Interesting... I'll have to test this.  I tested by shooting in a dark room and noted that while I could see the flash fire, the photo captured by the camera was black.   I may test the mirror when I get a chance (my 5D II & III don't have built-in flash, but I have a 60Da.  I don't have a 70D.)  

 

I'm wondering how bright the reflection in the mirror was.  Might it have been afterglow of the gas cooling down?  

 


When I first tested it I had my 120-300 f/2.8 with a 2X TC set at f/8 and Auto ISO the flash was barely visible, you probably wouldn't notice it unless your were looking for it.. I took that lens off and put on my 17-50 f/2.8 OS and set the ISO at 6400. The reflection fo the flash in the mirror was bright and clearly visible.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-20-2015

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the tips. I played arounds and no matter what could not get it to remote fire let me see if I follow your instructions and try that tonight.

 

You would think in 2015 adding a radio, gps and wifi would not really be that big of a deal to modern DSLR's at least pro-sumer / pro models. I mean manufacturers are hurting yet 2 out of 3 are in every smartphone sold.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !


@Miamic70 wrote:

Thanks for the tips. I played arounds and no matter what could not get it to remote fire let me see if I follow your instructions and try that tonight.

 

You would think in 2015 adding a radio, gps and wifi would not really be that big of a deal to modern DSLR's at least pro-sumer / pro models. I mean manufacturers are hurting yet 2 out of 3 are in every smartphone sold.


I haven't followed the latest releases from Nikon and Pentax. But, to my knowledge the Canon 6D is the only dSLR to have both WiFi and GPS built in. And no dSLR has a built in flash, WiFi, and GPS. So combining all of those may be harder than you think.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,981
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Does canon 70D has a bulit in flash trigger ! Or I need a third party device !


@TTMartin wrote:
I haven't followed the latest releases from Nikon and Pentax. But, to my knowledge the Canon 6D is the only dSLR to have both WiFi and GPS built in. And no dSLR has a built in flash, WiFi, and GPS. So combining all of those may be harder than you think.

The more you load a camera up with such features, the more demans you place on the battery. And no photographer who works directly with clients, models, or fast-moving events wants to be changing batteries during a shoot.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement